Skip to main content

Open Access

Find out more about Open Access initiatives and how you can make your research output open access.

Books

Crawford, W. (2011). Open access: What you need to know now. Chicago, IL: American Library Association.

Suber, P. (2012). Open access. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press.

Directories

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
A searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an Open Access business model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.

Directory of Open Access Directories (OpenDOAR)
This service uses a Google Custom Search to search the contents of all the repositories in the directory.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
An online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.MELIBEA 
A directory and an estimator of institutional open-access (OA) policies regarding scientific and academic outputs.

Open Access Directory (OAD)
A compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship.

Open Science Directory
A global search tool for all open access and special programs journal titles. Journals come from DOAJ, Research4Life, BioMed Central, PubMed Central, HighWire Press, etc.

Paperity
A multi-disciplinary aggregator of peer-reviewed Open Access journals and papers, "gold" and "hybrid".

Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
This service uses a Google Custom Search to search the contents of all the repositories in the registry.

Subject Specific Resources

AgEcon - a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics.

arXiv.org - An e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.

BioMed Central - Publishes peer-reviewed open access journals in science, technology and medicine.

Chemistry Central - Publishes peer-reviewed open access research in chemistry.

Cogprints (Cognitive Sciences ePrint Archive) – A repository for papers in the areas of psychology and neuroscience.

F1000 Posters – An open access repository for posters and slide presentations across biology and medicine.

JURN - A search engine dedicated to indexing free and open access e-journals in the arts and humanities.

PubChem - Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules.

Public Library of Science (PLoS) - Publishes journals in biology, medicine, computational biology, genetics, pathogens, and neglected tropical diseases.

PubMed Central – An archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Additional Resources

Open Access Bibliography
The bibliography provides an overview of open access concepts, and presents over 1,300 references to articles, books, conference papers and other resources that are useful in understanding the open access movement's efforts to provide free access to and unfettered use of scholarly literature.

Open Access Scholarly Information Sourcebook (OASIS)
OASIS offers practical steps for implementing Open Access for researchers, librarians, publishers, administrators, students and the public.