Educational Neuroscience Resources for Teachers is designed to summarise the important messages of neuroscience articles in clear, layperson language and provide general implications for educators based on the evidence, where appropriate and available.
The primary aim is to achieve a searchable database of article translations and educational implications that serves as a continuing resource for developing brain literacy and making contemporary neuroscience findings accessible for educators. While still in its infancy, the database currently constitutes article topics relating to neurodevelopmental conditions, with the goal of helping educators understand more about the brain basis of diverse learners.
The selected articles were published in 20 highly cited cognitive neuroscience journals from 2007 to 2017. Included studies were those that used brain imaging techniques to examine the brain structure and/or function of children and adolescents who had a diagnosis of one or more neurodevelopmental conditions: attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), autism spectrum disorder (ASD), dyscalculia, and dyslexia. Studies that examined the trajectories of these conditions from childhood to adulthood were also included.
In an effort to encourage more dialogue between educators and neuroscientists, we would greatly appreciate your feedback on this database to help us scale-up. The feedback form is located at https://ntulearning.au1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_1KXLQfUfrMDx9Rz.
We thank you for your support.
The Translating Educational Neuroscience Clearinghouse Team
The translations provided in this database are based solely on the original articles, i.e., the authors do not validate the content of the articles. The implications provided in this database have not necessarily been tested empirically, and they are not meant to be prescriptive or to substitute clinical diagnosis or intervention. While behavioural research supporting implications has been referenced where appropriate, readers and educators are encouraged to test different strategies themselves. The information provided in this database may also change and/or evolve over time in light of new evidence.
Dr Tan Seng Chee
Associate Professor, National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University
Principal Investigator, Centre for Research and Development in Learning, Nanyang Technological University
Dr Annabel Chen Shen-Hsing
Acting Director, Centre for Research and Development in Learning, Nanyang Technological University
Professor of Psychology, School of Social Sciences, Nanyang Technological University
Dr Alicia Goodwill
Research Scientist, Centre for Research and Development in Learning, Nanyang Technological University
Dr Azilawati Bte Jamaludin
Assistant Professor, National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University
Dr Zachary Walker
Associate Professor, Institute of Education, University College London
Dr James Bradford Hale
Psychologist, Clinical Child & Adolescent
Low Li Tong
Research Assistant, National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University
Rachel Tham Yi Ning
Research Assistant, National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University
This project was funded by the Education Research Funding Programme, National Institute of Education (NIE), Nanyang Technological University, Singapore (Project No: AFD 07/16 ZW). The views expressed in this project are the author’s and do not necessarily represent the views of NIE.
We thank Dr Daniel Ansari, Dr Brian Butterworth, and Dr Alva Appelgren for their insightful thoughts and feedback for this project. We thank the NIE Library and Information Services Centre for their assistance with conducting literature search and creating this database. We thank all teachers participated in an earlier study for their opinions and feedback on the initial translations.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.