Skip to main content

Find by Type

Stumped when presented with your course reading list? Follow these step-by-step guidelines to locate the publication that you want.

Introduction

NIE Library does not subscribe to every journal, nor every issue from a particular journal. For the same journal title the subscription coverage among libraries also differs. If you have already searched in NIE Library's resources and the full text article is not available in both print or electronic versions, there are other avenues you can employ.

You can search in:

More details available here.

Alternatively, you can also use the NIE Library's free electronic document delivery service where we will supply a photocopy of the article to you directly by email. 

Request for a free ELECTRONIC photocopy of the journal article

More information about the document delivery service may be found at:  http://libris.nie.edu.sg/document_delivery

Fill up the Photocopy Request Form and pass it to any Research & Information Services staff.

How to search for a journal article via the WebOPAC

Search the library catalogue for available print or online versions of the journal, if any.

Visit the LIBRIS homepage  and under the WebOPAC search tab, type in the journal title (and select the ‘Title’ field), click the ‘Browse’ button, and click ‘Search’.

 

TIP: Click the ‘Keyword’ button if you do not have the exact journal title.

  

If available in electronic form, check the years covered under the library’s subscription (hence you need to know the publication year of the article).

 

  

  If not available in electronic form, check if there is a print version, then note down the call number.

 

 

How to search for a journal article via LibDiscover!

Journal articles are indexed in LibDiscover! from available electronic academic papers in the NIE Digital Repository and from NIE Library's licensed databases.  

Hence, if you are looking for a particular journal article, you can perform a search using the title of the article in the LibDiscover! search tab directly.

1.a) In the LibDiscover quick search tab, type in the title of your article. Then click 'Search'.

TIP: Enclose the article title in double quotations ( "   " ) for a more specific search.

Alternatively if you wish to conduct a broad search to get an overview on a topic of research, you can use keywords or search statements in the LibDiscover! search tab.

1.b) In the LibDiscover quick search tab, type in keywords or a search statement. Then click 'Search'.

 

2. At the top of the page, click the the login link and login with your NIE Login Account to access full text and view all features in LibDiscover!.

 

3. If the article is available in NIE Library's resources, you may see the following search results. TIP: Use advanced filters to narrow down search results.

Click on the "Full Text" link or  "Online Access" link (for articles located in the NIE Digital Repository only) to access the full text.

NOTE: Some articles are available in the library's holdings, however the direct link to the full text is not available. In this scenario, click on the Findit@NIE article linker to access the full text

4. You can also view the abstract without viewing or downloading the full text by clicking on the magnifier icon. To mark search results and save them to a folder, click on the folder icon. Results will be stored temporarily in a folder (unless you have signed into My EBSCOhost).

Click on "Folder View" to view your saved results.

.

5. In the Folder View, you can email your search results (attached with full text if available) and export citations to EndNote.

TIP: To store your search results results for future sessions, you will need to sign in to your "My EBSCOhost" account. Registration is free. This account is not automatically created with your NIE Login Account.

 

 

How to search for a journal article via 360 Link search page

If you have a citation in hand, go to the 360 Link search page at:http://hf9lf4zb8t.search.serialssolutions.com/?SS_Page=refiner&SS_styleselector=0

a. Searching by using some or all information in a citation

    

b. Searching by using DOI or PMID number     

Notes:

The linking button is not always available in the search results because

How to search for a journal article in databases

Some databases are housed in a common platform with a single interface e.g. EBSCOhost and ProQuest databases. It is thus possible to search in one or more databases at the same time. Note: The same electronic journal may be available in multiple databases with different years of coverage.

How to Search in Databases

1. Go to the Library Portal Home page at http://libris.nie.edu.sg

2. There are two ways to view the list of databases. Either go to Resources > Electronic Resources > Databases OR scroll down to the bottom of the page and go to  Quick Links > Databases

3. Click on a title of a database (e.g. Academic OneFile[ProQuest] Education Database) or database platform (e.g. ProQuest Databases, EBSCOHost databases). Note: databases marked with "IP" are licensed databases requiring you to login with your NIE Login Account to access them. Databases marked with "FA" are freely accessible databases.

TIP: Click on the information (i) icon next to the database title to find out more about the subject coverage of the database as well as other helpful information such as links to user guides or tutorial videos. Click on the access link (see below) to enter the database or database platform.

4. Once in a database or database platform, enter in the search box your search statements based on the topic you are researching about, that is, relevant keywords linked with boolean operators (AND, OR) and truncation symbols ( * ) if necessary.  Then click on the Search button.

Example of a search statement: (plagiarism OR academic dishonesty) AND (universit* OR college*) AND (first-year student* OR freshmen)

Note: Leave the field blank for keyword searching and enter the search statement in a single search box. You can also perform field searching e.g. using subject or descriptors.

TIP: To find out how to construct simple statements for effective searches, please refer to Constructing Search Statements: A Basic Guide.

5. If the article is indexed in the database(s) you searched in, you may see the following search results.

a) Click on the PDF full text or HTML full text to access the full text.

b) Click on the article linker Findit@NIE  to prompt another search throughout the rest of the library's licensed databases for the article. If the article is available in other databases, you will be directed to the following page where you can access the full text.

 NOTE: If clicking on the Findit@NIE link does not yield results, please follow these troubleshooting steps.

What if the journal article is not available in NIE Library's resources?

SOLUTION 1: Search NTU Library's resources for any available ELECTRONIC copies of the journal

Note: NIE staff and students have on-site access to NTU Library's e-resources.

Here are the steps to verify and access NTU's electronic journals (Access to full text from Step 5 onwards can only be perfomed after logging into one of the computers in NTU library):

Step 1  Go to the e-journals page at http://www.ntu.edu.sg/Library/Pages/collection/e-journals.aspx and click on "OneSearch"

Or click on “e-Journals” search tab when at the NTU Library homepage

Step 2  Type in the title of the journal and click "Search". Then check the coverage of the database subscriptions, if any.

Note: NIE staff and students have to be physically present in NTU Libraries in order to access their e-resources. The closest libraries to NIE are Lee Wee Nam Library and Business Library.

You can access the online journal if you go to one of the computers in NTU library and log in with:

Username:     niestaff\username OR niestudent\username (your NIE Login account).

Password:       password (your NIE Login account).

(Please use backslash “ \”.)

Step 4  Search within the e-journal using the article title in the search box provided.

Step 5   Click on any link to full text or Findit@NTU article linker.

 

SOLUTION 2: Search NTU Library's resources for any available PRINTED copies of the journal

Here are the steps to access NTU's printed journals:

Step 1  Go to NTU Library's library catalogue at https://eps.ntu.edu.sg

Or click on the “Books” search tab > then click on the "Library Catalogue" link when at the NTU Library homepage

Step 2  Type in the journal title, and select the search field as "Title". Then click "Search".

Step 3  Click on the item record, if any.

Step 4  Check the coverage of the subscription, and note down the location (which library has it?) and call number (what is the exact shelf location?) of the correct volume and issue.

Note: NIE staff and students have free membership to NTU Library. However, to borrow library materials, you would have to register at the Lee Wee Nam Library with your staff card or Matriculation card during office hours.

 

SOLUTION 3: Search NLB's OneSearch platform for the journal article

If you are an NLB library member, you can access their e-resources via NLB's OneSearch platform using your myLibrary ID.

For more information about the OneSearch platform, please visit the FAQs .

Here are the steps to search for journal articles:: 

Step 1  Go to the OneSearch platform at http://search.nlb.gov.sg/Search

Step 2  Click the "Login" button at the top right-hand corner of the page and login with your myLibrary ID and password.

Step 3  Type the article title or keywords in the search box. Then click 'Search'.

Step 4  You will see a list of search results on various material types including books and journal articles. To view the list of relevant journal articles only, click on the 'eJournals' tab on the right-hand column.

 

SOLUTION 4: Search NLB's individual databases for the journal article

Note: try this only after searching in NTU Libraries' Journals A-Z List (see Solution 1) and you know which database has the journal coverage you are looking for)

If you are an NLB library member, you can access their e-resources using your myLibrary ID.

Here are the steps to access NLB's e-databases: 

Step 1  Connect to http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/index.aspx

Step 2  Click on the “Login” tab and fill in your myLibrary ID and password

Step 3  You will be directed back to the main e-resources page. Next, click on the e-Databases tab.

Step 4  Click on the relevant database link, then search using the article title. 

 

SOLUTION 5: Request for Free Document Delivery

Alternatively, you can also use the NIE Library's free electronic document delivery service where we will supply a photocopy of the article to you directly by email. 

Request for a free ELECTRONIC photocopy of the journal article

More information about the document delivery service may be found at:  http://libris.nie.edu.sg/document_delivery

Fill up the Document Delivery Request Form and pass it to any Research & Information Services staff.

Linking Google Scholar Results to Full Text Resources

Google Scholar is a one stop search for NIE and free scholarly resources. Google Scholar can be configured to show search results bearing hyperlinks that will help direct you to the full text in NIE’s resources. For example, you can search for journal articles using the article title.

 

Steps in Setting Preferences

1. Go to Google Scholar at http://scholar.google.com.

2. Click on the Settings (hamburger) icon in the top left-hand corner.

3. Click on Settings again.

3. Click on Library links. Then type nie or national institute of education in the search box and click the Search button.

4. National Institute of Education – Findit@NIE appears. Place a check mark in its box. Then click Save.

When a Google Scholar search is next performed (e.g. using an article title), the Findit@NIE hyperlinks will appear beside results whose full text can be found in NIE Library’s licensed resources. Clicking the links will bring you to the full text.