Bibliographies of Dr. Ruth Wong Professors in Teacher Education

Berry, A., Friedrichsen, P. J., & Loughran, J. (Eds.). (2015). Re-examining pedagogical content knowledge in science education. Routledge.

Corrigan, D., Buntting, C., Jones, A., & Loughran, J. (Eds.). (2018). Navigating the changing landscape of formal and informal science learning opportunities. Springer.

Hamilton, M. L., Pinnegar, S., Russell, T., Loughran, J., & La Boskey, V. (Eds.). (1998). Reconceptualizing teaching practice: Developing competence through self-study. Falmer Press.

Loughran, J. (2006). Developing a pedagogy of teacher education: Understanding teaching and learning about teaching. Routledge.

Loughran, J. (2010). What expert teachers do: Enhancing professional knowledge for classroom practice. Routledge.

Loughran, J. (Ed.). (1999). Researching teaching: Methodologies and practices for understanding pedagogy. Falmer Press.

Loughran, J., Berry, A., & Mulhall, P. (2012). Understanding and developing science teachers’ pedagogical content knowledge (2nd ed.). Sense Publishers.

Loughran, J., & Hamilton, M. L. (Eds.). (2016). International handbook of teacher education (Vol. 1). Springer.

Loughran, J., & Hamilton, M. L. (Eds.). (2016). International handbook of teacher education (Vol. 2). Springer.

Loughran, J., & Russell, T. (Eds.). (1997). Teaching about teaching: Purpose, passion, and pedagogy in teacher education. Falmer Press.

Loughran, J., & Russell, T. (Eds.). (2002). Improving teacher education practices through self-study. RoutledgeFalmer.

Loughran, J., Hamilton, M. L., La Boskey, V., & Russell, T. (Eds.). (2004). International handbook of self-study of teaching and teacher education practices. Kluwer Academic.

Loughran, J., Mitchell, I. J., & Mitchell, J. (2002). Learning from teacher research. Teachers College Press.

Loughran, J., Smith, K., & Berry, A. (Eds.). (2011). Scientific literacy under the microscope: A whole school approach to science teaching and learning. Sense Publishers.

Russell, T., & Loughran, J. (Eds.). (2007). Enacting a pedagogy of teacher education: Values, relationships and practices. Routledge.

Smith, K., & Loughran, J. (Eds.). (2017). Quality learning: Teachers changing their practice. Sense Publishers.

Venkat, H., Rollnick, M., Loughran, J., & Askew, M. (Eds.). (2014). Exploring mathematics and science teachers’ knowledge: Windows into teacher thinking. Routledge.

Wallace, J., & Loughran, J. (2003). Leadership and professional development in science education: New possibilities for enhancing teacher learning. RoutledgeFalmer.

Berry, A. K., & Loughran, J. J. (2002). Developing an understanding of learning to teach in teacher education. In J. Loughran, & T. Russell (Eds.), Improving teacher education practices through self-study (pp. 13-29). Routledge.

Berry, A. K., & Loughran, J. J. (2005). Teaching about teaching: The role of self-study. In C. Mitchell, S. Weber, & K. O’Reilly-Scanlon (Eds.), Just who do we think we are?: Methodologies for autobiography and self-study in teaching (pp. 168-180). Routledge.

Berry, A., & Loughran, J. (2012). Developing science teacher educators' pedagogy of teacher education. In B. J. Fraser, K. G. Tobin, & C. J. McRobbie (Eds.), Second international handbook of science education (Vol. 1, pp. 401-415). Springer.

Berry, A. K., Loughran, J. J., & Mulhall, P. J. (2007). Values associated with representing science teachers’ pedagogical content knowledge. In D. Corrigan, J. Dillon, & R. Gunstone (Eds.), The re-emergence of values in science education (pp. 149-163). Sense Publishers.

Bertram, A. R., & Loughran, J. (2014). Planting the seed: Scaffolding the PCK development of pre-service science teachers. In H. Venkat, M. Rollnick, J. Loughran, & M. Askew (Eds.), Exploring mathematics and science teachers' knowledge: Windows into teacher thinking (pp. 117-128). Routledge.

Carlson, J., Daehler, K. R., Alonza, A. C., Barendsen, E., Berry, A., Borowski, A., Carpendale, J., Chan, K. K. H., Cooper, R., Friedrichsen, P., Gess-Newsome, J., Ineke, H.-R., Hume, A., Kirschner, S., Liepertz, S., Loughran, J., Mavhunga, E., Neumann, K., Nilsson, P., … Wilson, C. D. (2019). The refined consensus model of pedagogical content knowledge in science education. In A. Hume, R. Cooper, & A. Borowski (Eds.), Repositioning pedagogical content knowledge in teachers' knowledge for teaching science (pp. 77-94). Springer.

Clemans, A., Berry, A., & Loughran, J. (2010). Lost and found in transition: The professional journey of teacher educators. In T. Bates, A. Swennen, & K. Jones (Eds.), The professional development of teacher educators (pp. 215-231). Routledge.

Clemans, A., Loughran, J. J., & O'Connor, J. (2017). University coursework and school experience: The challenge to amalgamate learning. In M. A. Peters, B. Cowie, & I. Menter (Eds.), A companion to research in teacher education (pp. 713-724). Springer.

Cooper, R., & Loughran, J. (2020). Exploring values of science through classroom practice. In D. Corrigan, C. Buntting, A. Fitzgerald, & A. Jones (Eds.), Values in science education: The shifting sands (pp. 49-65). Springer.

Cooper, R., Loughran, J., & Berry, A. K. (2015). Science teachers' PCK: understanding sophisticated practice. In A. Berry, P. Friedrichsen, & J. Loughran (Eds.), Re-examining pedagogical content knowledge in science education (pp. 60-74). Routledge.

Corrigan, D., Buntting, C., Jones, A., & Loughran, J. (2018). Navigating the changing landscape of formal and informal science learning opportunities. In D. Corrigan, C. Buntting, A. Jones, & J. Loughran (Eds.), Navigating the changing landscape of formal and informal science learning opportunities (pp. 1-7). Springer.

Crawford, B. A., Capps, D. K., van Driel, J. H., Lederman, N., Lederman, J., Luft, J., Wong, S., Tan, A. L., Lim, S. S. L., Loughran, J. J., & Smith, K. V. (2014). Learning to teach science as inquiry: Developing an evidence-based framework for effective teacher professional development. In C. Bruguiere, A. Tiberghien, & P. Clement (Eds.), Topics and trends in current science education: 9th ESERA Conference selected contributions (pp. 193-211). Springer.

Hamilton, M. L., & Loughran, J. (2016). Looking beyond borders: Scholarship of teacher education. In J. Loughran, & M. L. Hamilton (Eds.), International handbook of teacher education (Vol. 2, pp. 503-518). Springer.

Hamilton, M. L., Loughran, J., & Marcondes, M. I. (2009). Teacher educators and the self-study of teaching practices. In A. Swennen, & M. V. D. Klink (Eds.), Becoming a teacher educator: Theory and practice for teacher educators (pp. 205-217). Springer.

Krueger, B., Loughran, J. J., & Duit, R. (2002). Constructivism. In J. Wallace, & W. Louden (Eds.), Dilemmas of science teaching: Perspectives on problems of practice (pp. 191-204). Routledge.

Loughran, J. (1997). An introduction to purpose, passion and pedagogy. In J. Loughran & T. Russell (Eds.), Teaching about teaching: Purpose, passion and pedagogy in teacher education (pp. 3-10). Falmer.

Loughran, J. (1997). Teaching about teaching: Principles and practice. In J. Loughran & T. Russell (Eds.), Teaching about teaching: Purpose, passion and pedagogy in teacher education (pp. 57-70). Falmer.

Loughran, J. (1998). Processes and practices of self-study: Introduction. In M. L. Hamilton, S. Pinnegar, T. Russell, J. Loughran, & V. La Boskey (Eds.), Reconceptualizing teaching practice: Developing competence through self-study (pp. 219-221). Falmer Press.

Loughran, J. (1999). Researching teaching for understanding. In J. Loughran (Ed.), Researching teaching: Methodologies and practices for understanding pedagogy (pp. 1-9). Falmer Press.

Loughran, J. (2002). Teacher as researcher: The PAVOT project. In J. Loughran, I. Mitchell, & J. Mitchell (Eds.), Learning from teacher research (pp. 3-18). Teachers College Press.

Loughran, J. (2002). Understanding and articulating teacher knowledge. In C. Sugrue, & C. Day (Eds.), Developing teachers and teaching practice: International research perspectives (pp. 146-161). Routledge.

Loughran, J. (2002). Understanding self-study of teacher education practices. In J. Loughran, & T. Russell (Eds.), Improving teacher education practices through self-study (pp. 239-248). Routledge.

Loughran, J. (2003). Exploring the nature of teacher research. In A. Clarke, & G. Erickson (Eds.), Teacher inquiry: Living the research in everyday practice (pp. 181-189). Routledge.

Loughran, J. (2003). Leading with a focus on science teaching and learning. In J. Wallace, & J. Loughran (Eds.), Leadership and professional development in science education: New possibilities for enhancing teacher learning (pp. 237-246). Routledge.

Loughran, J. (2004). A history and context of self-study of teaching and teacher education practices. In J. Loughran, M. L. Hamilton, V. K. LaBoskey, & T. Russell (Eds.), International handbook of self-study of teaching and teacher education practices (pp. 7-39). Kluwer Academic Publishers.

Loughran, J. (2004). Learning through self-study: The influence of purpose, participants and context. In J. Loughran, M. L. Hamilton, V. K. LaBoskey, & T. Russell (Eds.), International handbook of self-study of teaching and teacher education practices (pp. 151-192). Kluwer Academic Publishers.

Loughran, J. (2005). Knowledge construction and learning to teach about teaching. In D. Beijaard, P. C. Meijer, G. Morine-Dershimer, & H. Tillema (Eds.), Teacher professional development in changing conditions (pp. 27-41). Springer.

Loughran, J. (2007). Enacting a pedagogy of teacher education. In T. Russell, & J. Loughran (Eds.), Enacting a pedagogy of teacher education: Values, relationships and practices (pp. 1-15). Routledge.

Loughran, J. (2007). Encouraging a student teacher as researcher stance in teacher education. In J. Butcher, & L. McDonald (Eds.), Making a difference: Challenges for teachers, teaching and teacher education (pp. 221-233). Sense Publishers.

Loughran, J. (2007). Teachers as leaders: Building a knowledge base of practice through researching practice. In T. Townsend, & R. Bates (Eds.), Handbook of teacher education: Globalization, standards and professionalism in times of change (pp. 585-596). Springer.

Loughran, J. (2008). Toward a better understanding of teaching and learning about teaching. In M. Cochran-Smith, S. Feiman-Nemser, D. J. McIntyre, & K. E. Demers (Eds.), Handbook of research on teacher education: Enduring questions in changing contexts (3rd ed., pp. 1177-1182). Routledge.

Loughran, J. (2008). Valuing knowledge of practice: Articulating a pedagogy of teacher education. In C. M. Huat, & T. Kerry (Eds.), International perspectives on education (pp. 141-158). Continuum International Publishing Group.

Loughran, J. (2009). Using a research agenda to inform teaching science teaching. In S. M. Ritchie, K. Tobin, & W-M. Roth (Eds.), The world of science education: Handbook of research in Australasia (pp. 285-300). Sense Publishers.

Loughran, J. (2010). Reflection through collaborative action research and inquiry. In N. Lyons (Ed.), Handbook of reflection and reflective inquiry: Mapping a way of knowing for professional reflective inquiry (pp. 399-413). Springer.

Loughran, J. (2011). Science teacher learning. In M. M. Cheng, & W. W. M. So (Eds.), Science education in international contexts (pp. 131-141). Sense Publishers.

Loughran, J. (2012). Professional learning: Creating conditions for developing knowledge of teaching. In M. Kooy, & K. van Veen (Eds.), Teacher learning that matters: International perspectives (pp. 47-63). Routledge.

Loughran, J. (2013). Being a teacher educator. In M. Ben-Peretz (Ed.), Teacher educators as members of an evolving profession (pp. 9-23). Rowman & Littlefield Publishers.

Loughran, J. (2013). Stepping out in style: Leading the way in teaching and learning in higher education. In R. Brandenburg, & J. Z. Wilson (Eds.), Pedagogies for the future: Leading quality learning and teaching in higher education (pp. 5-11). Sense Publishers.

Loughran, J. (2014). Developing understandings of practice: Science teacher learning. In N. G. Lederman, & S. K. Abell (Eds.), Handbook of research on science education (Vol. 2, pp. 811-829). Routledge.

Loughran, J. (2014). Recognizing and valuing teachers’ professional knowledge of practice. In H. Venkat, M. Rollnick, J. Loughran, & M. Askew (Eds.), Exploring mathematics and science teachers' knowledge: Windows into teacher thinking (pp. 195-203). Routledge.

Loughran, J. (2014). Slowmation: A process of explicit visualization. In B. Eilam, & J. K. Gilbert (Eds.), Science teachers' use of visual representations (pp. 85-102). Springer.

Loughran, J. (2016). Teaching and teacher education: The need to go beyond rhetoric. In R. Brandenburg, S. McDonough, J. Burke, & S. White (Eds.), Teacher education: Innovation, intervention and impact (pp. 253-264). Springer.

Loughran, J. (2017). The digital impact on self-study. In D. Garbett, & A. Ovens (Eds.), Being self-study researchers in a digital world: Future oriented research and pedagogy in teacher education (pp. 175-181). Springer.

Loughran, J. (2016). Understanding professional knowledge of teaching and its importance to scholarship in teacher education. In J. C.-K. Lee, & C. Day (Eds.), Quality and change in teacher education: Western and Chinese perspectives (pp. 263-275). Springer.

Loughran, J. (2018). Focusing on scientific literacy: The value of professional learning. In M. M. H. Cheng, A. Jones, & C. Buntting (Eds.), Studies in science education in the Asia-Pacific Region (pp. 139-150). Routledge.

Loughran, J. (2018). Learning about self-study of teacher education practices. In J. K. Ritter, M. Lunenberg, K. Pithouse-Morgan, A. P. Samaras, & E. Vanassche (Eds.), Teaching, learning, and enacting of self-study methodology: Unraveling a complex interplay (pp. 1-7). Springer.

Loughran, J. (2017). Professional learning that matters: A whole school approach. In K. Smith, & J. Loughran (Eds.), Quality learning: Teachers changing their practice (pp. 151-157). Sense Publishers.

Loughran, J. (2017). Quality in teacher education: Challenging assumptions, building understanding through foundation principles. In X. Zhu, A. L. Goodwin, & H. Zhang (Eds.), Quality of teacher education and learning: Theory and practice (pp. 69-84). Springer.

Loughran, J., & Berry, A. (2011). Making a case for improving practice: What can be learned about high-quality science teaching from teacher-produced cases? In D. Corrigan, J. Dillon, & R. Gunstone (Eds.), The professional knowledge base of science teaching (pp. 65-81). Springer.

Loughran, J., & Berry, A. (2011). Responding to the challenge of scientific literacy: A whole school approach to scientific literacy. In J. Loughran, K. Smith, & A. Berry (Eds.), Scientific literacy under the microscope: A whole school approach to science teaching and learning (pp. 139-148). Sense Publishers.

Loughran, J., Berry, A. K., & Mulhall, P. J. (2007). Pedagogical content knowledge: What does it mean to science teachers? In R. Pinto, & D. Couso (Eds.), Contributions from science education research (pp. 93-105). Springer.

Loughran, J., Berry, A., & Mulhall, P. (2012). Circulatory system. In J. Loughran, A. Berry, & P. Mulhall (Eds.), Understanding and developing science teachers’ pedagogical content knowledge (pp. 85-116). Springer.

Loughran, J., Berry, A. K., & Tudball, E. J. (2005). Developing a culture of critique in teacher education classes. In G. F. Hoban (Ed.), The missing links in teacher education design: Developing a multi-linked conceptual framework (pp. 193-208). Springer.

Loughran, J., Berry, A. K., & Tudball, L. (2006). Learning about teaching. In C. Kosnik, C. Beck, A. R. Freese, & A. P. Samaras (Eds.), Making a difference in teacher education through self-study (pp. 203-225). Springer.

Loughran, J., & Hamilton, M. L. (2016). Developing an understanding of teacher education. In J. Loughran, & M. L. Hamilton (Eds.), International handbook of teacher education (Vol. 1, pp. 3-22). Springer.

Loughran, J., Keast, S., & Cooper, R. (2016). Pedagogical reasoning in teacher education. In J. Loughran, & M. L. Hamilton (Eds.), International handbook of teacher education (Vol. 1, pp. 387-421). Springer.

Loughran, J., Korthagen, F., & Russell, T. (2008). Teacher education that makes a difference: Developing foundational principles of practice. In C. J. Craig, & L. F. Deretchin (Eds.), Imagining a renaissance in teacher education (pp. 405-421). Rowman & Littlefield Publishers.

Loughran, J., & Northfield, J. (1998). A framework for the development of self-study practice. In M. L. Hamilton, S. Pinnegar, T. Russell, J. Loughran, & V. La Boskey (Eds.), Reconceptualizing teaching practice: Developing competence through self-study (pp. 8-20). Falmer Press.

Loughran, J., & Russell, T. (1997). Meeting student teachers on their own terms: Experience precedes understanding. In V. Richardson (Ed.), Constructivist teacher education: Building new understandings (pp. 164-181). Falmer.

Loughran, J., & Smith, K. V. (2015). Facilitating change in science teachers' perceptions about learning and teaching. In D. Corrigan, C. Buntting, J. Dillon, A. Jones, & R. Gunstone (Eds.), The future in learning science: What's in it for the learner? (pp. 279-294). Springer.

Mansfield, J. L., Loughran, J., & Kidman, G. C. (2016). Developing knowledge of practice through self-study: Becoming a science teacher educator. In G. A. Buck, & V. L. Akerson (Eds.), Enhancing professional knowledge of pre-service science teacher education by self-study research: Turning a critical eye on our practice (pp. 385-405). Springer.

Mena, J., Hennissen, P., & Loughran, J. (2017). Developmental learning approaches to teaching: Stages of epistemological thinking and professional expertise. In D. J. Clandinin, & J. Husu (Eds.), The SAGE handbook of research on teacher education (Vol. 1, pp. 513-527). SAGE Publications.

Nilsson, P., & Loughran, J. (2012). Developing and assessing professional knowledge as a science teacher educator: Learning about teaching from student teachers. In S. M. Bullock, & T. Russell (Eds.), Self-Studies of science teacher education practices (pp. 121-138). Springer.

Nilsson, P., & Loughran, J. (2013). Formative assessment in learning to teach science. In D. Corrigan, R. Gunstone, & A. Jones (Eds.), Valuing assessment in science education: Pedagogy, curriculum, policy (pp. 325-345). Springer.

Wallace, J., & Loughran, J. (2012). Science teacher learning. In B. J. Fraser, K. G. Tobin, & C. J. McRobbie (Eds.), Second international handbook of science education (Vol. 1, pp. 295-306). Springer.

Ballet, K., Kelchtermans, G., & Loughran, J. (2006). Beyond intensification towards a scholarship of practice: Analysing changes in teachers’ work lives. Teachers and Teaching, Theory and Practice, 12(2), 209–229. https://doi.org/10.1080/13450600500467415 

Berry, A., & Loughran, J. (2001). Curriculum change in science teaching: The need to listen to teachers. Asia-Pacific Forum on Science Learning and Teaching, 2(1), 1–17.

Berry, A., Loughran, J., & van Driel, J. H. (2008). Revisiting the roots of pedagogical content knowledge. International Journal of Science Education, 30(10), 1271–1279. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500690801998885

Berry, A., Loughran, J., Smith, K., & Lindsay, S. (2008). Capturing and enhancing science teachers’ professional knowledge. Research in Science Education (Australasian Science Education Research Association), 39(4), 575–594. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11165-008-9095-8  

Berry, A., Mulhall, P., Gunstone, R., & Loughran, J. (1999). Helping students learn from laboratory work. Australian Science Teachers’ Journal, 45(1), 27–31.

Bertram, A., & Loughran, J. (2011). Science teachers’ views on CoRes and PaP-eRs as a framework for articulating and developing pedagogical content knowledge. Research in Science Education, 42(6), 1027–1047. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11165-011-9227-4 

Boyle, S., Fahey, E., Loughran, J., & Mitchell, I. (2001). Classroom research into good learning behaviours. Educational Action Research, 9(2), 199–224. https://doi.org/10.1080/09650790100200149 

Clemans, A., & Loughran, J. (2016). How can teachers develop practical knowledge and become expert teachers? Curriculum Perspectives, 36(1), 76-79.

Clemans, A., Berry, A., & Loughran, J. (2010). Lost and found in transition: The professional journey of teacher educators. Professional Development in Education, 36(1-2), 211–228. https://doi.org/10.1080/19415250903457141 

Clemans, A., Berry, A., & Loughran, J. (2012). Public anticipation yet private realisation: The effects of using cases as an approach to developing teacher leaders. The Australian Journal of Education, 56(3), 287–302. https://doi.org/10.1177/000494411205600307 

Cooper, R., Fitzgerald, A., Loughran, J., Phillips, M., & Smith, K. (2020). Understanding teachers’ professional learning needs: What does it mean to teachers and how can it be supported? Teachers and Teaching, Theory and Practice, 26(7-8), 558–576. https://doi.org/10.1080/13540602.2021.1900810 

Corrigan, D., & Loughran, J. (1993). An integrated science pre-service teacher training course: A focus on assessment. Research in Science Education, 23(1), 345-346.

Corrigan, D., & Loughran, J. (1994). Teaching portfolios: Developing quality learning in pre-service science teachers. Research in Science Education, 24(1), 60-67.

Dimova, Y., & Loughran, J. (2009). Developing a big picture understanding of reflection in pedagogical practice. Reflective Practice, 10(2), 205–217. https://doi.org/10.1080/14623940902786214 

Doecke, B., Brown, J., & Loughran, J. (2000). Teacher talk: The role of story and anecdote in constructing professional knowledge for beginning teachers. Teaching and Teacher Education, 16(3), 335–348. https://doi.org/10.1016/S0742-051X(99)00065-7 

Evergreen, M., Cooper, R., & Loughran, J. (2016). Investigating the use of term recall and recognition tools in learning terminology and concepts in a senior biology classroom. Asia-Pacific Forum on Science Learning and Teaching, 17(2), 1–26.

Evergreen, M., Cooper, R., & Loughran, J. (2018). The articulation of the development of teacher knowledge during the implementation of new teaching procedures to enhance student understanding of molecular biological concepts. Teacher Development, 22(3), 355–374. https://doi.org/10.1080/13664530.2018.1442875 

Hart, C., Mulhall, P., Berry, A., Loughran, J., & Gunstone, R. (2000). What Is the purpose of this experiment?: Or can students learn something from doing experiments? Journal of Research in Science Teaching, 37(7), 655–675.

Hoban, G., Loughran, J., & Nielsen, W. (2011). Slowmation: Preservice elementary teachers representing science knowledge through creating multimodal digital animations. Journal of Research in Science Teaching, 48(9), 985–1009. https://doi.org/10.1002/tea.20436 

Ingvarson, & Loughran, J. (1997). Loose connections: The context of science teachers’ work. Research in Science Education (Australasian Science Education Research Association), 27(1), 1–24. https://doi.org/10.1007/BF02463029

Korthagen, F., Loughran, J., & Lunenberg, M. (2005). Teaching teachers: Studies into the expertise of teacher educators: An introduction to this theme issue. Teaching and Teacher Education, 21(2), 107–115. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tate.2004.12.007 

Korthagen, F., Loughran, J., & Russell, T. (2006). Developing fundamental principles for teacher education programs and practices. Teaching and Teacher Education, 22(8), 1020–1041. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tate.2006.04.022 

Lee, S. K. F., & Loughran, J. (2000). Facilitating pre-service teachers’ reflection through a school-based teaching programme. Reflective Practice, 1(1), 69–89. https://doi.org/10.1080/713693131 

Loughran, J. (1992). Becoming a science teacher: First year teachers’ approaches to learning about teaching. Research in Science Education, 22(1), 273-282.

Loughran, J. (1992). Keeping up: A dilemma for science teachers. Research in Science Education, 21(1), 234-243.

Loughran, J. (1995). Practising what I preach: Modelling reflective practice to student teachers. Research in Science Education, 25(4), 431-451.

Loughran, J. (1996). Learning through modeling: Developing preservice teachers’ understanding of reflection. Teaching Education (Columbia, S.C.), 8(2), 23–28. https://doi.org/10.1080/1047621970080205 

Loughran, J. (1999). Professional development for teachers: A growing concern. Journal of in-Service Education, 25(2), 261–273. https://doi.org/10.1080/13674589900200080 

Loughran, J. (2000). Teaching about science teaching and learning: Research should inform practice. Asia-Pacific Forum on Science Learning and Teaching, 1(1), 1–15.

Loughran, J. J. (2002). Effective reflective practice : In search of meaning in learning about teaching. Journal of Teacher Education, 53(1), 33–43. https://doi.org/10.1177/0022487102053001004

Loughran, J. J. (2004). Student teacher as researcher: Accepting greater responsibility for learning about teaching. The Australian Journal of Education, 48(2), 212–220. https://doi.org/10.1177/000494410404800209 

Loughran, J. (2005). Researching teaching about teaching: Self-Study of teacher education practices. Studying Teacher Education, 1(1), 5–16. https://doi.org/10.1080/17425960500039777 

Loughran, J. (2006). A response to “Reflecting on the self.” Reflective Practice, 7(1), 43–53. https://doi.org/10.1080/14623940500489716 

Loughran, J. (2006). Towards a better understanding of science teaching. Teaching Education (Columbia, S.C.), 17(2), 109–119. https://doi.org/10.1080/10476210600680317 

Loughran, J. (2007). Researching teacher education practices: Responding to the challenges, demands, and expectations of self-study. Journal of Teacher Education, 58(1), 12–20. https://doi.org/10.1177/0022487106296217 

Loughran, J. (2009). Is teaching a discipline? Implications for teaching and teacher education. Teachers and Teaching, Theory and Practice, 15(2), 189–203. https://doi.org/10.1080/13540600902875290 

Loughran, J. (2010). Seeking knowledge for teaching teaching: Moving beyond stories. Studying Teacher Education, 6(3), 221–226. https://doi.org/10.1080/17425964.2010.518490 

Loughran, J. (2011). On becoming a teacher educator. Journal of Education for Teaching, 37(3), 279–291.  https://doi.org/10.1080/02607476.2011.588016 

Loughran, J. (2013). Pedagogy: Making sense of the complex relationship between teaching and learning. Curriculum Inquiry, 43(1), 118–141. https://doi.org/10.1111/curi.12003 

Loughran, J. (2014). Professionally developing as a teacher educator. Journal of Teacher Education, 65(4), 271–283. https://doi.org/10.1177/0022487114533386 

Loughran, J. (2019). Pedagogical reasoning: The foundation of the professional knowledge of teaching. Teachers and Teaching, Theory and Practice, 25(5), 523–535. https://doi.org/10.1080/13540602.2019.1633294 

Loughran, J. (2021). Understanding self as a leader: Emotional leadership and what it means for practice. Journal of Educational Administration and History, 53(2), 132–143. https://doi.org/10.1080/00220620.2020.1805418

Loughran, J., & Berry, A. (2005). Modelling by teacher educators. Teaching and Teacher Education, 21(2), 193–203. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tate.2004.12.005 

Loughran, J., & Brubaker, N. (2015). Working with a critical friend: A self-study of executive coaching. Studying Teacher Education, 11(3), 255–271. https://doi.org/10.1080/17425964.2015.1078786 

Loughran, J., Berry, A., & Corrigan, D. (2001). Once were science teachers. The Qualitative Report, 6(4), 1-13. https://doi.org/10.46743/2160-3715/2001.1992

Loughran, J., Berry, A., Cooper, R., Keast, S., & Hoban, G. (2012). Preservice teachers learning about teaching for conceptual change through slowmation. Asia-Pacific Forum on Science Learning and Teaching, 13(1), 1–28.

Loughran, J., Berry, A., Mulhall, P., & Gunstone, D. (2003). Teaching and testing about the nature of science: Problems in attempting to determine students’ perceptions. Asia-Pacific Forum on Science Learning and Teaching, 4(1), 1–19.

Loughran, J., Brown, J., & Doecke, B. (2001). Continuities and discontinuities: The transition from pre-service to first-year teaching. Teachers and Teaching, Theory and Practice, 7(1), 7–23. https://doi.org/10.1080/13540600125107

Loughran, J., & Corrigan, D. (1995). Teaching portfolios: A strategy for developing learning and teaching in preservice education. Teaching and Teacher Education, 11(6), 565–577. https://doi.org/10.1016/0742-051X(95)00012-9 

Loughran, J., & Derry, N. (1997). Researching teaching for understanding: The students’ perspective. International Journal of Science Education, 19(8), 925–938. https://doi.org/10.1080/0950069970190806

Loughran, J., & Gunstone, R. (1997). Professional development in residence: Developing reflection on science teaching and learning. Journal of Education for Teaching, 23(2), 159–178. https://doi.org/10.1080/02607479720105 

Loughran, J., & Ingvarson, L. (1993). Science teachers’ views of professional development. Research in Science Education, 23(1), 174-182.

Loughran, J., & Menter, I. (2019). The essence of being a teacher educator and why it matters. Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher Education, 47(3), 216–229. https://doi.org/10.1080/1359866X.2019.1575946 

Loughran, J., & Russell, T. (2007). Beginning to understand teaching as a discipline. Studying Teacher Education, 3(2), 217–227. https://doi.org/10.1080/17425960701656619 

Loughran, J., Korthagen, F., & Russell, T. (2008). CHAPTER 23: Teacher education that makes a difference. Action in Teacher Education, 29(5-6), 405–421. https://doi.org/10.1080/01626620.2008.10519462 

Loughran, J., Milroy, P., Berry, A., Gunstone, R., & Mulhall, P. (2001). Documenting science teachers’ pedagogical content knowledge Through PaP-eRs. Research in Science Education, 31(2), 289–307. https://doi.org/10.1023/A:1013124409567 

Loughran, J., Mitchell, I., & Mitchell, J. (2003). Attempting to document teachers’ professional knowledge. International Journal of Qualitative Studies in Education, 16(6), 853–873. https://doi.org/10.1080/09518390310001632180 

Loughran, J., Mulhall, P., & Berry, A. (2004). In search of pedagogical content knowledge in science: Developing ways of articulating and documenting professional practice. Journal of Research in Science Teaching, 41(4), 370–391. https://doi.org/10.1002/tea.20007

Loughran, J., Mulhall, P., & Berry, A. (2008). Exploring pedagogical content knowledge in science teacher education. International Journal of Science Education, 30(10), 1301–1320. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500690802187009

Lunenberg, M., Loughran, J., Schildkamp, K., Beishuizen, J., Meirink, J., & Zwart, R. (2007). Self-study in a community of learning researchers: What can we do to help teachers/teacher educators benefit from our research? European Educational Research Journal, 6(4), 411–423. 
https://doi.org/10.2304/eerj.2007.6.4.411 

Mansfield, J., & Loughran, J. (2018). Pedagogical equilibrium as a lens for understanding teaching about teaching. Studying Teacher Education, 14(3), 246–257. https://doi.org/10.1080/17425964.2018.1541274 

Mena, J., Hennissen, P., & Loughran, J. (2017). Developing pre-service teachers’ professional knowledge of teaching: The influence of mentoring. Teaching and Teacher Education, 66, 47–59. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tate.2017.03.024 

Mitchell, J., Riley, P., & Loughran, J. (2010). Leading professional learning in schools: Emotion in action. Teacher Development, 14(4), 533–547. https://doi.org/10.1080/13664530.2010.533495 

Mulhall, P., Berry, A., & Loughran, J. (2003). Frameworks for representing science teachers’ pedagogical content knowledge. Asia-Pacific Forum on Science Learning and Teaching, 4(2), 1–25.

Nilsson, P., & Loughran, J. (2012). Exploring the development of pre-service science elementary teachers’ pedagogical content knowledge. Journal of Science Teacher Education, 23(7), 699–721. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10972-011-9239-y

Smith, K. V., Loughran, J., Berry, A., & Dimitrakopoulos, C. (2012). Developing scientific literacy in a primary school. International Journal of Science Education, 34(1), 127–152. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500693.2011.565088