LibGuides: RSTF Joint Guide: Predatory Publishing: Journal Evaluation Resources

Publisher-linked Journal Finders

Elsevier JournalFinder
A journal finder that searches within Elsevier journals.

IEEE Publication Recommender
A journal finder that searches in periodicals and conferences within the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)
A journal recommender tags journals that are currently indexed in Pubmed, MEDLINE, Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).

JSTOR Text Analyzer
A journal finder searches within JSTOR digital library containing scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

National Library of Medicine (NLM) Catalog (for biomedical journals)
Search for "currently indexed" to retrieve a list of journals currently indexed in MEDLINE, the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.
SpringerNature Journal Suggester
A journal finder that searches within the Springer and BMC journals.

Web of Science Manuscript Matcher
A general journal finder that searches journals indexed in Web of Science Core Collection.

Wiley Journal Finder
A journal finder that searches within the Wiley journals.

Metrics-related Resources

Asian Citation Databases
- ASEAN Citation Index
- Member countries: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
- Chinese Social Science Citation Index (CSSCI)
- CiNii (Citation Information from the National Institute of Informatics)
- Indian Citation Index (ICI)
- Korea Citation Index (KCI)
- Malaysian Citation Index (MyCite)
- Thai-Journal Citation Index Centre (TCI)
- Taiwan Humanities Citation Index (THCI) & Taiwan Social Sciences Citation Index (TSSCI)

CiteScore
A multidisciplinary index based on the data from Scopus. Resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 42,180 indexed journals in over 300 disciplines.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) [Requires subscription]
A multidisciplinary index integrated with the Web of Science Core Collection. Resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 20,932 indexed journals in over 250 disciplines.
Journal Quality List
Compiled by Dr. Anne-Wil Harzing, creator of the Publish or Perish (PoP) software, the Journal Quality List is a collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources. It is published primarily to assist academics to target papers at journals of an appropriate standard.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
An online portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.).

Online Directories

African Journals Online (AJOL)
World's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals. It is an Non-Profit Organisation that (since 1998) works to increase global & continental online access, awareness, quality & use of African-published, peer-reviewed research. The Journal Publishing Practices and Standards (JPPS) framework also provides an assessment of journals on this platform.

Directory of Members (OASPA)
A list of organisations and publishers that are recognised as Members of OASPA

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
An independent online directory which indexes high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. As many predatory journals falsely claim to be listed in DOAJ, DOAJ maintains a spreadsheet list of Journals Added and Removed.

Journals Online
The Journals Online (JOLs) project aimed to increase the visibility, accessibility and quality of peer-reviewed journals published in developing countries (i.e. Bangladesh, Nepal, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Vietnam, Central America and Mongolia) so that the research outputs produced in these countries can be found, shared and used more eﬀectively.

Sherpa Romeo
An online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies worldwide and provides summaries of publishers’ copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis.

UGC-CARE
The UGC-CARE published a list of credible Indian journals especially from the disciplines of Arts, Humanities, Languages, Culture and Indian Knowledge Systems (UGC-CARE Group I).

The Ulrich’s Web Global Serials Directory [Requires subscription]
An online periodicals directory providing bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types worldwide (e.g. scholarly journals, Open Access publications, refereed titles, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, etc.).

Online Journal Selectors

Edanz Journal Selector
A general journal finder that searches over 28,650 journals.

Enago Open Access Journal Finder (OAJF)
Based on a validated journal index provided by Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ), OAJF displays vital journal details including publisher details, peer review process, confidence index (indicates similarity between matching keywords in the published articles across all journals indexed by DOAJ), and publication speed.

JournalGuide
A general journal finder by Research Square that searches within over 46,000 journals. Choice of searching from past 1 to 10 years. Journal Impact Factor is not currently displayed on JournalGuide.

Journal Reviewer
An independent site that aggregates information users provide about their experience with academic journals' review processes so that other others can be as informed as possible as they consider journal submissions

Open Journal Matcher
“This tool compares the similarity of user-submitted abstracts with abstracts from the Directory of Open Access Journals, and provides a list of the top matching journals.”

Publish & Flourish
“FlourishOA is a data-driven web app and API enabling users to discover relevant and reputable Open Access (OA) publications in order to maximize publishing impact. By aggregating price information and impact data, we empower researchers to identify credible OA journals that best fit their publication needs.”

Quality Open Access Market
OAM is a market place for scientific and scholarly journals which publish articles in open access. Quality scoring of the journals in QOAM is based on academic crowd sourcing; price information includes institutional licensed pricing.

Best Practices and Guides

Avoiding Predatory Journals and Questionable Conferences: A Resource Guide (2018)
The guide provides a clear overview of the topics of predatory journals and questionable conferences and advice on how to avoid them.

COPE: Discussion Document: Predatory Publishing (2019)
The COPE predatory publishing discussion document introduces issues, and analyses potential solutions, around predatory publications.

DOAJ: Best Practice Guide
The guide provides selection criteria, resources and tools for the identification of reputable open access journals.

ICMJE: Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals (ICMJE)
These recommendations are for review of best practice and ethical standards in the conduct, reporting, editing and publication of works in medical journals.

Journal Publishing Practices and Standards (JPPS) Framework
This framework is applied to journals on the Journals Online platforms (JOLs). It could also be used to assess other Southern and global titles.

Principles of Transparency & Best Practices in Scholarly Publishing (2018)
OASPA, DOAJ, COPE and WAME collaborated in an effort to identify principles of transparency and best practice for scholarly publications.
WAME: Indentifying Predatory or Pseudo-Journals (2017)
This document provides guidance on distinguishing predatory journals from legitimate journals.

Checklists and Rubrics

Declan Butler's Checklist
A checklist for publishers and journals, originally published in Nature.

Journal Evaluation Tool
A rubric and scoring sheet created by the William H. Hannon Library for the evaluation of journals.

Think. Check. Submit
A checklist that helps researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research.
Video

Potential Predatory Publishers (Use with Caution)

Beallls List:
This is an archived version of the Beall’s list.

Cabell's Predatory Report [Requires subscription]
A list of journals that are potentially predatory.

Cabell's Predatory Report Criteria
Cabell's Blacklist Review Board uses the criteria to evaluate all journals suspected of deceptive, fraudulent, and/or predatory practices.
Stop Predatory Journals
List of Hijacked Journals: A list of journals that appear to have been hijacked, meaning that their websites or branding have been co-opted by a predatory journal or publisher.
List of Misleading and Fake Metrics:A list of possibly misleading metrics.
List of Predatory Publishers: A list of possibly predatory publishers extracted from the archive of Beall’s List.
List of Predatory Journals: A list of possibly predatory journals extracted from the archive of Beall’s List.

Blogs and Tweets

Flaky Academic Conferences and Flaky Academic Journals
Blogs on questionable conferences and journals. Both blogs are written by David H. Kaye, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Penn State Law (University Park), and Regents’ Professor Emeritus, ASU (Schools of Law and Life Sciences).
Retraction Watch
A blog that keeps an eye on scientific integrity and helps draw attention to how researchers, journals, and institutions correct the scientific record.
Predatory Journals (@fake_journals) / Twitter

RSTF Joint Guide: Predatory Publishing

Content Licence

Credits

Publisher-linked Journal Finders

Metrics-related Resources

Online Directories

Online Journal Selectors

Best Practices and Guides

Checklists and Rubrics

Potential Predatory Publishers (Use with Caution)

Blogs and Tweets