LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that offers quick access to licensed and open access full text articles. LibKey Nomad is available for Google Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Brave, and Vivaldi. When using LibKey Nomad, users are automatically directed to the best available version of an article.
LibKey Nomad does not require the creation of a personal account, it does not track users or hold credentials, and it is only active when on the web page of a scholarly publisher or database.
When browsing publishers and other web pages, LibKey Nomad provides a link to download the PDF of an article available via the NIE Library.
When searching PubMed, LibKey Nomad shows options for downloading a PDF, linking to an article, or additional access options. LibKey Nomad also provides a link to the complete issue of a journal e.g. "View Complete Issue". This allows users to browse the table of contents of the issue in which an article appears in.
In Wikipedia, when viewing the list of references for an entry, a "Download PDF" button will appear for citations with full text availability via the NIE Library. An "Article Link" button may appear for citations that are from sources that do not support linking directly to the PDF. For articles whose full text are not available via NIE LIbrary, an "Access Options..." button will appear.
Here is a detailed description of what each of these labels means:
Download PDF - this directly downloads the article PDF for you. The PDF document is either coming directly from the publisher or is the publisher's version but held in a repository such as PubMed Central or a university repository.
Article Link - this will lead you to the direct article link on a database, where you would be able to view the full text in HTML or click on another link to download the PDF.
Manuscript PDF - this will lead you to an Accepted Manuscript held in a repository. This version of the article has been peer-reviewed but is not formatted for publishing.
Manuscript Link - Same as the above, except one more click is required to get to the PDF, if the PDF is available.
Access Options - this may lead you to a publisher's webpage or to an item result in the NIE Library's search platform where the library's subscription does not cover the journal or issue. If the full text is not available via NIE Library, you can make a request via Document Delivery to get a copy of the resource.