meriSTEM@NIE

This bibliography consists of publications by meriSTEM@NIE Singapore. Access to licensed resources is only available to NIE staff and students. 

Click on any name below to view book publications by meriSTEM@NIE that are available in the NIE Library collection.

meriSTEM@NIE Core Team Members

Book Chapters by meriSTEM@NIE

A topic modelling study of STEM applied learning programme websites in Singapore by Eunjeong Yun, Ong Yann Shiou, Lee Yew-Jin
In: Cross-disciplinary STEM learning for Asian primary students: design, practices and outcomes
Publication Year: 2024

Beyond economic goals for STEM education development in the Asia-Pacific by Michael Tan
In: International handbook on education development in Asia-Pacific
Publication Year: 2023

Taking the lead in STEM: A case study of a Singapore primary science teacher's attempt at STEM
by Teo Tang Wee, Tan Aik-Ling, Soo Li Mei Johannah, Tan Ter Ming Timothy
In: Cross-disciplinary STEM learning for Asian primary students
Publication Year: 2023

Building improvised microbial fuel cells: a model integrated STEM curriculum for middle-school learners in Singapore
by Tan Ter Ming Timothy, Lee Yew-Jin
In: Integrated STEM and STEM partnerships: teaching and learning
Publication Year: 2022

Digital technologies and professional learning of science teachers: a technological pedagogical content knowledge (TPACK) perspective
by Tan Seng Chee, Teo Tang Wee, Tsai Chin-Chung
In: Handbook of research on science teacher education
Publication Year: 2022

From image-to-writing: a teacher's PCK in supporting primary school students in making sense of the specialised language of science
by Jennifer Yeo, Tan Kim Chwee Daniel
In: The role of language in content pedagogy: a framework for teachers’ knowledge
Publication Year: 2022

Humanistic goals for science education: STEM as an opportunity to reconsider goals for education by Michael Tan
In: Education in the 21st century: STEM, creativity and critical thinking
Publication Year: 2022

Status and trends of STEM education in Singapore by Tan Aik-Ling, Teo Tang Wee
In: Status and trends of STEM education in highly competitive countries: country reports and international comparison
Publication Year: 2022

STEM education research in Asia: envisioning a new education paradigm by Ong Yann Shiou
In: STEM education research in Asia: envisioning a new education paradigm
Publication Year: 2022

STEM teacher education: confluences of policy, professional learning, and practice by Choy Ban Heng
In: STEM education from Asia: trends and perspectives
Publication Year: 2022

Students' views, attitudes, identity, self-concept, and career decisions: results from an evaluation study of a STEM program in Singapore
by Toh Si Qi, Teo Tang Wee, Ong Yann Shiou
In: STEM education from Asia: trends and perspectives
Publication Year: 2022

Teacher noticing, mathematics by Choy Ban Heng, Jaguthsing Dindyal
In: Encyclopedia of teacher education
Publication Year: 2022

Understanding STEM integration in Singapore using complex, persistent, and extended problems by Tan Aik-Ling, Lau Shu Xin Roxanne
In: STEM education from Asia: trends and perspectives
Publication Year: 2022

What does STEM education offer and how is it relevant? A content analysis of secondary school websites in Singapore
by Ong Yann Shiou, Lee Yew-Jin
In: Concepts and practices of STEM education in Asia
Publication Year: 2022

360° video for immersive learning experiences in science education by Timothy Ter Ming Tan, Tan Aik-Ling
In: Virtual and augmented reality, simulation and serious games for education
Publication Year: 2021

Developing the competencies of mathematics teacher-researchers by Choy Ban Heng, Jaguthsing Dindyal
In: Singapore math and science education innovation: beyond PISA
Publication Year: 2021

Developing the competencies of Singapore science teacher-researchers by Teo Tang Wee, Tan Aik-Ling
In: Singapore math and science education innovation: beyond PISA
Publication Year: 2021

If STEM education is the solution, then what is the problem? Thinking about the what and why in relation to the how by Michael Tan
In: Methodological Approaches to STEM Education Research
Publication Year: 2021

Innovative science and STEM pedagogies in Singapore by Jennifer Yeo, Chen Wenli, Tan Ter Ming Timothy, Lee Yew-Jin
In: Singapore math and science education innovation: beyond PISA
Publication Year: 2021

Moving research into the classroom: synergy in collaboration by Tan Kim Chwee Daniel, Jennifer Yeo
In: Singapore math and science education innovation: beyond PISA
Publication Year: 2021

Science teacher education in Singapore: developing twenty-first-century readiness by Tan Aik-Ling, Koh Jing Qin Dominic, Lim Xin Ying
In: Singapore math and science education innovation: beyond PISA
Publication Year: 2021

STEM education in Singapore by Teo Tang Wee, Choy Ban Heng
In: Singapore math and science education innovation: beyond PISA
Publication Year: 2021

An analysis of power play in the subculture of lower track science classrooms by Teo Tang Wee
In: Science education in the 21st century: re-searching issues that matter from different lenses
Publication Year: 2020

Differentiated instruction in our mathematics classrooms by Choy Ban Heng, Low Leng, Leong Swee Ling
In: Mathematics teaching in Singapore - vol 1.: theory-informed practices
Publication Year: 2020

Facilitating the use of research in practice: teaching students to plan experiments by Tan Kim Chwee Daniel
In: Science education in the 21st century: re-searching issues that matter from different lenses
Publication Year: 2020

Innovative and powerful pedagogical practices in mathematics education by Jodie Hunter, Jodie Miller, Choy Ban Heng, Roberta Hunter
In: Research in mathematics education in Australasia 2016–2019
Publication Year: 2020

Learning trajectory of a science undergraduate working as an intern in a research laboratory: a science practice lens
by Cassander Tan, Tan Aik-Ling
In: Science education in the 21st century: re-searching issues that matter from different lenses
Publication Year: 2020

Scientific argumentation as an epistemic practice: secondary students’ critique of science research posters
by Ong Yann Shiou, Richard A. Duschl, Julia D. Plummer
In: Science education in the 21st century: re-searching issues that matter from different lenses
Publication Year: 2020

Theoretical lenses to develop mathematics teacher noticing: learning, teaching, psychological, and social perspectives
by Ceneida Fernández, Choy Ban Heng
In: International handbook of mathematics teacher education - vol. 2: tools and processes in mathematics teacher education
Publication Year: 2020

Deciphering students' thinking on ionisation energy: utilising a web-based diagnostic instrument
by Tan Kim Chwee Daniel, Keith S. Taber, Liew Yong Qiang. Teo Kay Liang Alan
In: Research and practice in chemistry education: advances from the 25th IUPAC International Conference on Chemistry Education 2018
Publication Year: 2019

On pursuing quixotic goals: what are worthwhile interruptions to research? by Michael Tan
In: Navigating challenges in qualitative educational research: research, interrupted
Publication Year: 2019

The role of dialogue in science epistemic practices by Tan Aik-Ling, Tang Kok Sing
In: The Routledge international handbook of research on dialogic education
Publication Year: 2019

Affordances of purposeful play by Teo Tang Wee, Yan Yaw Kai, Ong Woei Ling Monica, Goh Mei Ting
In: Science education research and practice in Asia-Pacific and beyond
Publication Year: 2018

Innovation to what end? Makerspaces as sites for science education by Michael Tan
In: Critical issues and bold visions for science education: the road ahead
Publication Year: 2018

Primary science education in Singapore by Lee Yew-Jin
In: Primary science education in East Asia: a critical comparison of systems and strategies
Publication Year: 2018

Science teacher professional development: the blind men and the elephant by Tan Aik-Ling
In: 13 questions: reframing education's conversation - science
Publication Year: 2018

Elementary science learning experiences in Singapore: learning in a group  by Ong Oon Jeu Joanna, Tan Aik-Ling, Frederick Toralballa Talaue
In: Studies in science education in Asia-Pacific region
Publication Year: 2017

Makerspaces in Singapore: pedagogic principles for nurturing innovativeness by Michael Tan
In: Technology-enhanced 21st century learning
Publication Year: 2017

Mathematical teacher noticing: the key to learning from lesson study by Lee Mi Yeon, Choy Ban Heng
In: Teacher noticing: bridging and broadening perspectives, contexts, and frameworks
Publication Year: 2017

Mathematics teacher noticing: expanding the terrains of this hidden skill of teaching
by Choy Ban Heng, Jaguthsing Dindyal, Lee Mi Yeon, Edna O. Schack
In: Proceedings of the 13th International Congress on Mathematical Education: ICME-13
Publication Year: 2017

Science teacher education for the changing landscape
by Wong Jon Sien Darren, Tan Kim Chwee Daniel, Lee Yew-Jin, Tan Tuck Lee Augustine
In: Teacher education in the 21st century: Singapore's evolution and innovation
Publication Year: 2017

Affordances in school science research by Teo Tang Wee, Woo Jia Qian, Loh Lay Kuan
In: Interplay of creativity and giftedness in science
Publication Year: 2016

Innovative and powerful pedagogical practices in mathematics education by Roberta Hunter, Jodie Hunter, Robyn Jorgensen, Choy Ban Heng
In: Research in mathematics education in Australasia 2012-2015
Publication Year: 2016

Singapore science education by Tan Kim Chwee Daniel, Teo Tang Wee, Poon Chew-Leng
In: Science education research and practice in Asia: challenges and opportunities
Publication Year: 2016

Summary: driving change forward by Amber S. Bismack, Ong Yann Shiou, Armend Tahirsylaj, Richard A. Duschl
In: Reconceptualizing STEM education
Publication Year: 2016

Activity theory and science learning by Lee Yew-Jin
In: Encyclopedia of science education
Publication Year: 2015

Packaging inquiry-based science learning for students: a discursive analysis of one high school teacher's talk from Singapore
by Chue Shien, Lee Yew-Jin
In: Science education in East Asia: pedagogical innovations and research-informed practices
Publication Year: 2015

Red dragon fruit: using red pigment extracts from Pitayas as natural indicators by Teo Tang Wee
In: Teaching science in culturally relevant ways: ideas from Singapore teachers
Publication Year: 2015

Developing scientific literacy from engaging in science in everyday life: ideas for science educators by Teo Tang Wee, Lim Kim Yong
In: Communicating science to the public: opportunities and challenges for the Asia-Pacific Region
Publication Year: 2014

From transmission to inquiry: influence of curriculum demands on in-service teachers’ perception of science as inquiry
by Tan Aik-Ling, Frederick Talaue, Mijung Kim
In: Inquiry into the Singapore science classroom: research and practices
Publication Year: 2014

Learning to teach science as inquiry: developing an evidence-based framework for effective teacher professional development
by Barbara A. Crawford, Daniel K. Capps, Jan van Driel, Norman Lederman, Judith Lederman, Julie A. Luft, Sissy Wong, Tan Aik-Ling, Shirley S. L. Lim, John Loughran, Kathy Smith
In: Topics and trends in current science education: 9th ESERA conference selected contributions
Publication Year: 2014

Science education in a straightjacket: the interplay of people, policies, and place in an East Asian developmental state by Lee Yew-Jin
In: Inquiry into the Singapore science classroom: research and practices
Publication Year: 2014

Science teacher education and science as inquiry: promises and dilemmas by Tan Aik-Ling, Shirley S. L. Lim
In: Innovations in science teacher education in the Asia Pacific
Publication Year: 2014

Teachers’ ideas and concerns with assessment practices in inquiry science by Tan Poh-Hiang, Tan Aik-Ling
In: Inquiry into the Singapore science classroom: research and practices
Publication Year: 2014

Using inquiry to facilitate meaningful learning in inorganic chemistry qualitative analysis by Tan Kim Chwee Daniel
In: Inquiry into the Singapore science classroom: research and practices
Publication Year: 2014

Identity-based research in science education by Lee Yew-Jin
In: Second international handbook of science education
Publication Year: 2012

Learning chemistry performatively: epistemological and pedagogical bases of design-for-learning with computer and video games
by Chee Yam San, Tan Kim Chwee Daniel, Tan Ek Ming, Jan Mingfong
In: Issues and challenges in science education research: moving forward
Publication Year: 2012

Science education research in Singapore: adapting to the winds of change by Tan Aik-Ling
In: The world of science education: science education in Asia
Publication Year: 2010

Singapore by Tan Kim Chwee Daniel, Koh Thiam Seng
In: Teaching chemistry around the world
Publication Year: 2010

Situating science inquiry in a knowledge creation metaphor of learning by Jennifer Yeo, Lee Yew-Jin
In: The world of science education: science education in Asia
Publication Year: 2010

Authority and transmission versus knowledge building: dilemmas in learning science by Tan Aik-Ling, Tan Seng Chee
In: Science education at the nexus of theory and practice
Publication Year: 2008

Getting the point: chemical concepts in action by Chue Shien, Lee Yew-Jin, Tan Kim Chwee Daniel
In: Science education at the nexus of theory and practice
Publication Year: 2008

Science education in Singapore: meeting the challenges ahead by Koh Thiam Seng, Tan Kim Chwee Daniel, Cheah Horn Mun
In: Science education in context: an international examination of the influence of context on science curricula development and implementation
Publication Year: 2008

A beautiful life in science: learning and identity at work by Lee Yew-Jin
In: Science, learning, identity: sociocultural and cultural-historical perspectives
Publication Year: 2007

The language of science: alternative lenses to examining the learning of science by Tan Aik-Ling, Lillian Soong
In: Redesigning pedagogies: reflections on theory and praxis
Publication Year: 2006

School science and the nature of science by Lee Yew-Jin, Yeoh Oon-Chye
In: Challenges facing the Singapore education system today
Publication Year: 2001