Bibliographies of CJ Koh Professors in Education

Dillon, J. (2016). Towards a convergence between science and environmental education: The selected works of Justin Dillon. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315730486

Dillon, J., & Watts, M. (Eds.). (2022). Debates in science education (2nd ed.). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003137894

Corrigan, D., Buntting, C., Dillon, J., Jones, A., & Gunstone, R. (Eds.). (2015). The future in learning science: What’s in it for the learner? Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-16543-1

Corrigan, D., Dillon, J., & Gunstone, R. (Eds.). (2007). The re-emergence of values in science education. Brill. https://doi.org/10.1163/9789087901677

Corrigan, D., Dillon, J., & Gunstone, R. (Eds.). (2011). The professional knowledge base of science teaching. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-90-481-3927-9

Henriksen, E. K., Dillon, J., & Ryder, J. (Eds.). (2015). Understanding student participation and choice in science and technology education. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-007-7793-4

Jorde, D., & Dillon, J. (Eds.). (2012). Science education research and practice in Europe. Brill. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-6091-900-8

Monk, M., & Dillon, J. (1995). Learning to Teach Science: Activities for student teachers and mentors. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203392546

Stevenson, R. B., Brody, M., Dillon, J., & Wals, A. E. J. (Eds.). (2012). International handbook of research on environmental education. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203813331

Stevenson, R. B., & Dillon, J. (Eds.). (2010). Engaging environmental education: Learning, culture and agency. Brill. https://doi.org/10.1163/9789460911613

Dillon, J. (2007). Values and science learners: Values in the attained curriculum. In D. Corrigan, J. Dillon, & R. Gunstone (Eds.), The re-emergence of values in science education (pp. 213–214). Brill. https://doi.org/10.1163/9789087901677_018

Dillon, J. (2010). Teaching Science Outside the Classroom. In R. Toplis (Ed.), How science works: Exploring effective pedagogy and practice (pp. 134–147). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203838266

Dillon, J. (2011). Science, the environment and education beyond the classroom. In B. J. Fraser, K. Tobin, & C. J. McRobbie (Eds.), International Handbook of Science Education (2nd ed.) (pp. 1081–1095). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4020-9041-7_71

Dillon, J. (2012). Science, environment and health education: Towards a reconceptualisation of their mutual interdependences. In A. Zeyer & R. Kyburz-Graber (Eds.), Science|Environment|Health: Towards a renewed pedagogy for science education (pp. 87–101). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-90-481-3949-1_6

Dillon, J. (2013). Outdoor education. In J. Hattie & E. M. Anderman (Eds.), International guide to student achievement (pp. 296–298). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203850398-98

Dillon, J. (2014). Environmental education. In N. G. Lederman & S. K. Abell (Eds.), Handbook of research on science education (Vol. 2, pp. 497–514). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203097267

Dillon, J. (2016). Beyond formal and informal. In L. Avraamidou & W. Roth (Eds.), Intersections of formal and informal science (pp. 52–63). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315668413-6

Dillon, J. (2016). Reflections on self-studies and the preparation of future science teacher educators. In G. A. Buck & V. L. Akerson (Eds.), Enhancing professional knowledge of pre-service science teacher education by self-study research: Turning a critical eye on our practice (pp. 407–413). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-32447-0_21

Dillon, J., Achiam, M., & Glackin, M. (2021). The role of out-of-school science education in addressing wicked problems: An introduction. In M. Welzel-Breuer (Ed.), Contributions from science education research (pp. 1–8). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-74266-9_1

Dillon, J., & Herman, B. (2023). Environmental education. In N. G. Lederman, D. L. Zeidler, & J. S. Lederman (Eds.), Handbook of research on science education (pp. 717–748). https://doi.org/10.4324/9780367855758-27

Dillon, J., & Hetherington, L. (2022). Creativity in school science. In J. Dillon & M. Watts (Eds.), Debates in science education (2nd ed., pp. 227–238). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003137894-19

Dillon, J., & Reid, A. (2007). Science, the environment and citizenship: Teaching values at the Minstead Study Centre. In D. Corrigan, J. Dillon, & R. Gunstone (Eds.), The re-emergence of values in science education (pp. 77–88). Brill. https://doi.org/10.1163/9789087901677_008

Dillon, J., & Watts, M. (2022). Debates in science education. In J. Dillon & M. Watts (Eds.), Debates in science education (2nd ed., pp. 1–9). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003137894-1

Achiam, M., Glackin, M., & Dillon, J. (2021). Wicked problems and out-of-school science education: Implications for practice and research. In M. Welzel-Breuer (Ed.), Contributions from science education research (pp. 229–237). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-74266-9_12

Anthony, R., Yore, L. D., Coll, R. K., Dillon, J., Chiu, M. H., Fakudze, C., Grimberg, I., & Wang, B. J. (2009). Research ethics boards and the gold standard(s) in literacy and science education research. In M. C. Shelley, L. D. Yore, & B. Hand (Eds.), Quality research in literacy and science education (pp. 511–557). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4020-8427-0_24

Buntting, C., Gunstone, R., Corrigan, D., Dillon, J., & Jones, A. (2015). The future in learning Science: themes, issues and big ideas. In D. Corrigan, C. Buntting, J. Dillon, A. Jones, & R. Gunstone (Eds.), The future in learning science: What’s in it for the learner? (pp. 1–17). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-16543-1_1

Coll, R. K., Chang, W. H., Dillon, J., Justi, R., Mortimer, E. F., Tan, K. C. D., Treagust, D. F., & Webb, P. (2009). An international perspective of monitoring educational research quality: Commonalities and differences. In M. C. Shelley, L. D. Yore, & B. Hand (Eds.), Quality research in literacy and science education (pp. 107–137). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4020-8427-0_6

Corrigan, D., Gunstone, R., & Dillon, J. (2011). Approaches to considering the professional knowledge base of science teachers. In D. Corrigan, J. Dillon, & R. Gunstone (Eds.), The professional knowledge base of science teaching (pp. 1–11). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-90-481-3927-9_1

Dolin, J., Bruun, J., Constantinou, C. P., Dillon, J., Jorde, D., & Labudde, P. (2017). Policy aspects: How to change practice and in what direction. In M. Welzel-Breuer (Ed.), Contributions from science education research (pp. 249–278). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-63248-3_10

Egg, J., Kapelari, S., & Dillon, J. (2017). Visualising social network structures in the training of professional learning communities of educators in informal and formal settings. In P. G. Patrick (Ed.), Preparing informal science educators (pp. 269–288). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-50398-1_15

Evagorou, M., & Dillon, J. (2011). Argumentation in the teaching of science. In D. Corrigan, J. Dillon, & R. Gunstone (Eds.), The professional knowledge base of science teaching (pp. 189–203). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-90-481-3927-9_11

Evagorou, M., & Dillon, J. (2020). Introduction: Socio-scientific issues as promoting responsible citizenship and the relevance of science. In D. L. Zeidler (Ed.), Contemporary trends and issues in science education (pp. 1–11). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-40229-7_1

Gunstone, R., Corrigan, D., & Dillon, J. (2007). Why consider values and the science curriculum? In D. Corrigan, J. Dillon, & R. Gunstone (Eds.), The re-emergence of values in science education (pp. 1–10). Brill. https://doi.org/10.1163/9789087901677_002

Henriksen, E. K., Dillon, J., & Pellegrini, G. (2014). Improving participation in science and technology higher education: Ways forward. In E. K. Henriksen, J. Dillon, & J. Ryder (Eds.), Understanding student participation and choice in science and technology education (pp. 367–377). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-007-7793-4_22

Kelsey, E., & Dillon, J. (2010). ‘If the public knew better, they would act better’: The pervasive power of the myth of the ignorant public. In R. B. Stevenson & J. Dillon (Eds.), Engaging environmental education: learning, culture and agency (pp. 99–110). Brill. https://doi.org/10.1163/9789460911613_007

King, H., & Dillon, J. (2012). Learning in informal settings. In N. M. Seel (Ed.), Encyclopedia of the sciences of learning (pp. 1905–1908). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-4419-1428-6_1101

Nielsen, J. A., Evagorou, M., & Dillon, J. (2020). New perspectives for addressing socioscientific issues in teacher education. In D. L. Zeidler (Ed.), Contemporary trends and issues in science education (pp. 193–199). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-40229-7_12

Regan, E., & Dillon, J. (2014). A place for STEM: Probing the reasons for undergraduate course choices. In E. K. Henriksen, J. Dillon, & J. Ryder (Eds.), Understanding student participation and choice in science and technology education (pp. 119–134). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-007-7793-4_8

Regan, E., Vergou, A., Kapelari, S., Willison, J., Dillon, J., Bromley, G., & Bonomi, C. (2014). Strategies for embedding inquiry-based teaching and learning in botanic gardens: evidence from the inquire project. In P. Blessinger & J. M. Carfora (Eds.), Inquiry-based learning for faculty and institutional development: A conceptual and practical resource for educators (Vol. 1, pp. 175–199). Emerald Publishing. https://doi.org/10.1108/s2055-364120140000001010

Stevenson, R., & Dillon, J. (2010). Introduction to issues in learning, culture and agency in environmental education. In R. B. Stevenson & J. Dillon (Eds.), Engaging environmental education: Learning, culture and agency (pp. 3–10). Brill. https://doi.org/10.1163/9789460911613_002

Stevenson, R. B., Dillon, J., Wals, A. E., & Brody, M. J. (2012). The evolving characteristics of environmental education research. In R. B. Stevenson, M. Brody, J. Dillon, & A. E. J. Wals (Eds.), International handbook of research on environmental education (pp. 512–517). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203813331-60

Stevenson, R. B., Wals, A. E., Dillon, J., & Brody, M. J. (2012). Introduction: An orientation to environmental education and the handbook. In R. B. Stevenson, M. Brody, J. Dillon, & A. E. J. Wals (Eds.), International handbook of research on environmental education (pp. 1–6). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203813331-1

Tomei, A., Dillon, J., & Dawson, E. L. (2014). United Kingdom: An example of the impact of high stakes accountability regimes on STEM education. In B. Freeman, S. Marginson, & R. Tytler (Eds.), The age of STEM: Educational policy and practice across the world in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (pp. 161–177). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315767512-10

Wals, A. E., & Dillon, J. (2012). Conventional and emerging learning theories: Implications and choices for educational researchers with a planetary consciousness. In R. B. Stevenson, M. Brody, J. Dillon, & A. E. J. Wals (Eds.), International handbook of research on environmental education (pp. 253–261). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203813331-33

Wals, A. E., Stevenson, R. B., Brody, M. J., & Dillon, J. (2012). Tentative directions for environmental education research in uncertain times. In R. B. Stevenson, M. Brody, J. Dillon, & A. E. J. Wals (Eds.), International handbook of research on environmental education (pp. 542–547). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203813331-63

Dillon, J. (2003). On learners and learning in environmental education: missing theories, ignored communities. Environmental Education Research, 9(2), 215–226. https://doi.org/10.1080/13504620303480

Dillon, J. (2007). Motivating science. Science communication from a philosophical, educational and cultural perspective. Public Understanding of Science, 16(1), 113–115. https://doi.org/10.1177/096366250701600110

Dillon, J. (2007). [Review of the book Social learning towards a sustainable world: Principles, perspectives and praxis by A. E. J. Wals]. International Journal of Innovation and Sustainable Development, 2(3/4), 469. https://doi.org/10.1504/ijisd.2007.017957

Dillon, J. (2008). Discussion, debate and dialog: Changing minds about conceptual change research in science education. Cultural Studies of Science Education, 3(2), 397–416. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11422-008-9093-1

Dillon, J. (2011). Science communication—A UK perspective [Letter to the editor]. International Journal of Science Education, Part B: Communication and Public Engagement, 1(1), 5–8. https://doi.org/10.1080/21548455.2011.552277

Dillon, J. (2012). Science, society and sustainability: Education and empowerment for an uncertain world. Environmental Education Research, 18(5), 727–731. https://doi.org/10.1080/13504622.2012.662395

Dillon, J. (2013). Doing justice to the informal science education community. Studies in Science Education, 50(1), 131–136. https://doi.org/10.1080/03057267.2013.831971

Dillon, J. (2016). 50 years of JBE: From science and environmental education to civic science. Journal of Biological Education, 50(2), 120–122. https://doi.org/10.1080/00219266.2016.1175760

Dillon, J. (2019). University declarations of environment and climate change emergencies. Environmental Education Research, 25(5), 613–614. https://doi.org/10.1080/13504622.2019.1646022

Dillon, J., Kelsey, E., & Duque‐Aristizabal, A. M. (1999). Identity and culture: Theorising emergent environmentalism. Environmental Education Research, 5(4), 395–405. https://doi.org/10.1080/1350462990050405

Dillon, J., & Morgan, A. (2008). [Review of the book Teaching the global dimension: Key principles and effective practice, by D. Hicks and C. Holden]. Environmental Education Research, 14(3), 374–379. https://doi.org/10.1080/13504620802150671

Dillon, J., & Reid, A. (2004). Issues in case‐study methodology in investigating environmental and sustainability issues in higher education: Towards a problem‐based approach? Environmental Education Research, 10(1), 23–37. https://doi.org/10.1080/1350462032000173689

Dillon, J., Rickinson, M., Sanders, D., & Teamey, K. (2005). On food, farming and land management: Towards a research agenda to reconnect urban and rural lives. International Journal of Science Education, 27(11), 1359–1374. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500690500153865

Dillon, J., & Scott, W. (2002). Perspectives on environmental education-related research in science education. International Journal of Science Education, 24(11), 1111–1117. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500690210137737

Dillon, J., Stevenson, R. B., & Wals, A. (2016). Introduction to the special section moving from citizen to civic science to address wicked conservation problems. Conservation Biology, 30(3), 450–455. https://doi.org/10.1111/cobi.12689

Dillon, J., & Teamey, K. (2002). Reconceptualizing environmental education: Taking account of reality. Canadian Journal of Science, Mathematic and Technology Education, 2(4), 467–483. https://doi.org/10.1080/14926150209556536

Dillon, J., & Wals, A. (2006). On the danger of blurring methods, methodologies and ideologies in environmental education research. Environmental Education Research, 12(3–4), 549–558. https://doi.org/10.1080/13504620600799315

Archer, L., DeWitt, J., & Dillon, J. (2014). ‘It didn’t really change my opinion’: Exploring what works, what doesn’t and why in a school science, technology, engineering and mathematics careers intervention. Research in Science & Technological Education, 32(1), 35–55. https://doi.org/10.1080/02635143.2013.865601

Archer, L., DeWitt, J., Osborne, J., Dillon, J., Willis, B., & Wong, B. (2010). “Doing” science versus “being” a scientist: Examining 10/11‐year‐old schoolchildren’s constructions of science through the lens of identity. Science Education, 94(4), 617–639. https://doi.org/10.1002/sce.20399

Archer, L., DeWitt, J., Osborne, J., Dillon, J., Willis, B., & Wong, B. (2012). “Balancing acts’’: Elementary school girls’ negotiations of femininity, achievement, and science. Science Education, 96(6), 967–989. https://doi.org/10.1002/sce.21031

Archer, L., DeWitt, J., Osborne, J., Dillon, J., Willis, B., & Wong, B. (2012). Science aspirations, capital, and family habitus: How families shape children’s engagement and identification with science. American Educational Research Journal, 49(5), 881–908. https://doi.org/10.3102/0002831211433290

Archer, L., DeWitt, J., Osborne, J., Dillon, J., Willis, B., & Wong, B. (2013). ‘Not girly, not sexy, not glamorous’: Primary school girls’ and parents’ constructions of science aspirations. Pedagogy, Culture & Society, 21(1), 171–194. https://doi.org/10.1080/14681366.2012.748676

Assaraf, O. B., Dawson, V., Eilam, E., Gokpinar, T., Goldman, D., Naugauker, N., Putri, I. G. a. P. E., Subiantoro, A. W., Tolppanen, S., White, P., Quinton, H. W., & Dillon, J. (2024). Climate change education implementation: The voices of policymakers, professional development providers, and teachers in five countries. International Journal of Science Education, 1–23. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500693.2024.2314572

Bevan, B., & Dillon, J. (2010). Broadening views of learning: Developing educators for the 21st century through an international research partnership at the exploratorium and King’s College London. New Educator/The New Educator, 6(3–4), 167–180. https://doi.org/10.1080/1547688x.2010.10399599

Davies, B. R., Leung, A., Dunne, S., Dillon, J., & Blum, I. R. (2015). Bespoke video vignettes – An approach to enhancing reflective learning developed by dental undergraduates and their clinical teachers. European Journal of Dental Education, 21(1), 33–36. https://doi.org/10.1111/eje.12175

DeWitt, J., Archer, L., Osborne, J., Dillon, J., Willis, B., & Wong, B. (2010). High aspirations but low progression: The science aspirations–careers paradox amongst minority ethnic students. International Journal of Science and Mathematical Education/International Journal of Science and Mathematics Education, 9(2), 243–271. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10763-010-9245-0

DeWitt, J., Osborne, J., Archer, L., Dillon, J., Willis, B., & Wong, B. (2013). Young children’s aspirations in science: The unequivocal, the uncertain and the unthinkable. International Journal of Science Education, 35(6), 1037–1063. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500693.2011.608197

Evagorou, M., Dillon, J., Viiri, J., & Albe, V. (2015). Pre-service science teacher preparation in Europe: Comparing pre-service teacher preparation programs in England, France, Finland and Cyprus. Journal of Science Teacher Education, 26(1), 99–115. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10972-015-9421-8

Howard‐Jones, P., Sands, D., Dillon, J., & Fenton-Jones, F. (2021). The views of teachers in England on an action-oriented climate change curriculum. Environmental Education Research, 27(11), 1660–1680. https://doi.org/10.1080/13504622.2021.1937576

Jiménez-Liso, M. R., Banet, L. L., & Dillon, J. (2020). Changing how we teach acid-base chemistry. Science & Education (Dordrecht), 29(5), 1291–1315. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11191-020-00142-6

Joslin, P., Stiles, K. S., Marshall, J. S., Anderson, O. R., Gallagher, J. J., Kahle, J. B., Fensham, P. J., Lazarowitz, R., Rennie, L. J., Fraser, B. J., Staver, J. R., Gallard, A., Jiménez‐Aleixandre, M. P., Dillon, J., Moscovici, H., Tuan, H., Emdin, C., Tobin, K., & Roth, W. (2007). NARST: A lived history. Cultural Studies of Science Education, 3(1), 157–207. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11422-007-9079-4

Meyers, R. B., Brody, M. J., Dillon, J., Hart, P., Krasny, M. E., Monroe, M. C., Russell, C., & Wals, A. (2007). Towards creating an inclusive community of researchers: The first three years of the North American association for environmental education research symposium. Environmental Education Research, 13(5), 639–661. https://doi.org/10.1080/13504620701659095

Monk, M., & Dillon, J. (1995). From telling to selling: One historical perspective on consultancy in science education. Journal of Education Policy, 10(3), 317–323. https://doi.org/10.1080/0268093950100306

Nundy, S., Dillon, J., & Dowd, P. F. (2009). Improving and encouraging teacher confidence in out-of-classroom learning: The impact of the Hampshire trailblazer project on 3–13 curriculum practitioners. Education 3-13, 37(1), 61–73. https://doi.org/10.1080/03004270802291889

Olave, B. T., & Dillon, J. (2022). Chilean physics teacher educators’ hybrid identities and border crossings as opportunities for agency within school and university. Journal of Research in Science Teaching, 59(10), 1795–1821. https://doi.org/10.1002/tea.21774

Osborne, J., & Dillon, J. (2007). Research on learning in informal contexts: Advancing the field? International Journal of Science Education, 29(12), 1441–1445. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500690701491122

Oulton, C., Day, V., Dillon, J., & Grace, M. (2004). Controversial issues ‐ teachers’ attitudes and practices in the context of citizenship education. Oxford Review of Education, 30(4), 489–507. https://doi.org/10.1080/0305498042000303973

Oulton, C., Dillon, J., & Grace, M. (2004). Reconceptualizing the teaching of controversial issues. International Journal of Science Education, 26(4), 411–423. https://doi.org/10.1080/0950069032000072746

Philpotts, I., Blackwell, E., Dillon, J., & Rooney, N. J. (2024). Do animal welfare education campaigns really work? An evaluation of the RSPCA’s #DogKind campaign in raising awareness of separation-related behaviours in UK dog owners. Animals, 14(3), 484. https://doi.org/10.3390/ani14030484

Philpotts, I., Blackwell, E., Dillon, J., Tipton, E., & Rooney, N. J. (2024). What do we know about dog owners? Exploring associations between pre-purchase behaviours, knowledge and understanding, ownership practices, and dog welfare. Animals, 14(3), 396. https://doi.org/10.3390/ani14030396

Philpotts, I., Dillon, J., & Rooney, N. J. (2019). Improving the welfare of companion dogs—Is owner education the solution? Animals, 9(9), 662. https://doi.org/10.3390/ani9090662

Reid, A., Dillon, J., Ardoin, N. M., & Ferreira, J. (2021). Scientists’ warnings and the need to reimagine, recreate, and restore environmental education. Environmental Education Research, 27(6), 783–795. https://doi.org/10.1080/13504622.2021.1937577

Reid, A., Teamey, K., & Dillon, J. (2004). Valuing and utilizing traditional ecological knowledge: Tensions in the context of education and the environment. Environmental Education Research, 10(2), 237–254. https://doi.org/10.1080/13504620242000198195

Rondeau, K. V., Dillon, J., Mansour, N., & Daniels, J. (2022). Managing knowledge and identity across the boundary of academic and commercial science. Proceedings of the European Conference on Innovation and Entrepreneurship, 17(1), 432–440. https://doi.org/10.34190/ecie.17.1.791

Russell, C., Chandler, P., & Dillon, J. (2023). Humour and environmental education [Editorial]. Environmental Education Research, 29(4), 491–499. https://doi.org/10.1080/13504622.2023.2183845

Russell, C., & Dillon, J. (2010). Environmental Education and STEM Education: New times, new alliances?/Formation environnementale et formation en sciences, technologies, ingénierie et mathématiques: Temps nouveaux et alliances nouvelles? Canadian Journal of Science, Mathematics and Technology Education, 10(1), 1–12. https://doi.org/10.1080/14926150903574213

Seakins, A., & Dillon, J. (2013). Exploring research themes in public engagement within a natural history museum: A modified delphi approach. International Journal of Science Education, Part B: Communication and Public Engagement, 3(1), 52–76. https://doi.org/10.1080/21548455.2012.753168

Stagg, B. C., & Dillon, J. (2023). Plants, education and sustainability: Rethinking the teaching of botany in school science. Journal of Biological Education, 57(5), 941–943. https://doi.org/10.1080/00219266.2023.2264617

Stagg, B. C., & Dillon, J. (2022). Plant awareness is linked to plant relevance: A review of educational and ethnobiological literature (1998–2020). Plants, People, Planet, 4(6), 579–592. https://doi.org/10.1002/ppp3.10323

Tasquier, G., Levrini, O., & Dillon, J. (2016). Exploring students’ epistemological knowledge of models and modelling in science: Results from a teaching/learning experience on climate change. International Journal of Science Education, 38(4), 539–563. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500693.2016.1148828

Tobin, K., Rennie, L. J., Venville, G., Chu, H., Fensham, P. J., Gallagher, J. J., Duit, R., Graeber, W., Van Den Berg, E., Hand, B., Ritchie, S. M., & Dillon, J. (2011). David F. Treagust:  Congenial soul, science educator, and international research leader. Cultural Studies of Science Education, 6(3), 783–793. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11422-011-9352-4

Wals, A., Brody, M. J., Dillon, J., & Stevenson, R. B. (2014). Convergence between science and environmental education. Science, 344(6184), 583–584. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.1250515

Watson, J., Prieto, T., & Dillon, J. (1997). Consistency of students’ explanations about combustion. Science Education, 81(4), 425–443. https://doi-org.libproxy.nie.edu.sg/10.1002/(SICI)1098-237X(199707)81:4%3C425::AID-SCE4%3E3.0.CO;2-E

Watson, R., Prieto, T., & Dillon, J. (1995). The effect of practical work on students’ understanding of combustion. Journal of Research in Science Teaching, 32(5), 487–502. https://doi.org/10.1002/tea.3660320506

Wong, V., & Dillon, J. (2019). Crossing the boundaries: Collaborations between mathematics and science departments in English secondary (high) schools. Research in Science & Technological Education, 38(4), 396–416. https://doi.org/10.1080/02635143.2019.1636024

Wong, V., & Dillon, J. (2019). ‘Voodoo maths’, asymmetric dependency and maths blame: Why collaboration between school science and mathematics teachers is so rare. International Journal of Science Education, 41(6), 782–802. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500693.2019.1579945

Wong, V., Dillon, J., & King, H. (2016). STEM in England: Meanings and motivations in the policy arena. International Journal of Science Education, 38(15), 2346–2366. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500693.2016.1242818

Zeyer, A., & Dillon, J. (2014). Science|Environment|Health—Towards a reconceptualization of three critical and inter-linked areas of education. International Journal of Science Education, 36(9), 1409–1411. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500693.2014.904993

Zeyer, A., & Dillon, J. (2018). The role of empathy for learning in complex Science|Environment|Health contexts. International Journal of Science Education, 41(3), 297–315. https://doi.org/10.1080/09500693.2018.1549371

Zhai, J., & Dillon, J. (2014). Communicating science to students: Investigating professional botanic garden educators’ talk during guided school visits. Journal of Research in Science Teaching, 51(4), 407–429. https://doi.org/10.1002/tea.21143

Zhai, J., Dillon, J., & Dawson, V. (2024). Climate change education: Cross-cultural perspectives. ECNU Review of Education. https://doi.org/10.1177/20965311241237243