Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Studies

Graduate Studies: A Select Bibliography

This select bibliography highlights print and electronic books that are useful to higher degree students. Areas covered include research methodologies, how to write a dissertation or thesis, and publishing tips to start their career in research.

Containing books available in the LibDiscover, this bibliography is organised into the following categories:

  • Higher Degree Journey

  • Research Methodology

  • Academic Writing

  • Academic Publishing

This select bibliography was compiled in conjunction with the NIE Graduate Student Conference. It will be updated annually to reflect books published within the last 5 years.

Higher Degree Journey

Buckler, S., & Walliman, N. (2016). Your dissertation in education (2nd ed.). Los Angeles: SAGE.

Burnard, P., Dragovic, T., Flutter, J., & Alderton, J. (2016). Transformative doctoral research practices for professionals. Rotterdam: Sense Publishers.

Dane, F. C. (2018). Evaluating research: Methodology for people who need to read research. Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications.

Devlin, A. S. (2018). The research experience: Planning, conducting, and reporting research. Los Angeles, California: Sage.

Machi, L., & McEvoy, B. (2016). The literature review: Six steps to success (3rd ed.). Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin.

Onwuegbuzie, A., & Frels, R. (2016). 7 steps to a comprehensive literature review: A multimodal & cultural approach. Los Angeles, CA: SAGE.

Tanggaard, L., & Wegener, C. (2017). A survival kit for doctoral students and their supervisors: Traveling the landscape of research. Thousand Oaks, California: SAGE.

Terrell, S. R. (2016). Writing a proposal for your dissertation: Guidelines and examples. New York: The Guilford Press.

Thomas, G. (2017). How to do your research project: A guide for students. Thousand Oaks, California: Sage.

Thomson, P., & Kamler, B. (2016). Detox your writing: Strategies for doctoral researchers. UK, Abingdon: Routledge.

Research Methodology

Qualitative

Lune, H., & Berg, B. L. (2017). Qualitative research methods for the social sciences (9th ed., Global ed.). Harlow, U.K.: Pearson.

Prasad, P. (2015). Crafting qualitative research: Working in the postpositivist traditions. New York: Routledge.

Ravitch, S. M., & Carl, N. M. (2016). Qualitative research: Bridging the conceptual, theoretical, and methodological. California: SAGE Publications.

 

Quantitative

Drager, K. (2018). Experimental research methods in sociolinguistics. London: Bloomsbury Academic.

Hoy, W. K., & Adams, C. M. (2016). Quantitative research in education: A primer. Thousand Oaks, California: SAGE.

Kent, R. A. (2015). Analysing quantitative data: Variable-based and case-based approaches to non-experimental datasets. Los Angeles, California: SAGE.

 

Mixed Methods 

Bartlett, L., & Vavrus, F. K. (2017). Rethinking case study research: A comparative approach. London: Routledge.

Bordens, K. S., & Abbott, B. B. (2018). Research design and methods: A process approach. New York: McGraw-Hill Education.

Creamer, E. G. (2018). An introduction to fully integrated mixed methods research. Thousand Oaks, California: Sage.

Delamont, S. (2016). Fieldwork in educational settings: Methods, pitfalls and perspectives. New York: Routledge.

Gray, D. E. (2018). Doing research in the real world. London, UK: SAGE Publications.

Hancock, D. R., & Algozzine, R. (2017). Doing case study research: A practical guide for beginning researchers. New York, NY: Teachers College Press.

Jacobs, M. S., & Cooper, B. S. (2016). Action research in the classroom: Helping teachers assess and improve their work. USA, Maryland: Rowman & Littlefield.

Mertens, D. M. (2018). Mixed methods design in evaluation. Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, Inc.

Mertler, C. A. (2017). Action research: Improving schools and empowering educators (5th ed.). USA, California: SAGE.

Millar, C. (2016). A practical guide to classroom research. UK, Northwich: Critical Publishing Ltd.

Miller, S. A. (2018). Developmental research methods (5th ed.). Thousand Oaks, California: Sage.

Rowell, L. L., Bruce, C., Shosh, J. M., & Riel, M. (2016). The Palgrave International handbook of action research. New York: Palgrave Macmillan.

Russ-Eft, D. F., Sleezer, C., Sampson, G., & Leviton, L. C. (2017). Managing applied social research: Tools, strategies, and insights. San Francisco, California: Jossey-Bass, A Wiley Brand.

Sagor, R., & Williams, C. V. (2017). The action research guidebook: A process for pursuing equity and excellence in education. USA, California: Corwin.

Salkind, N. J. (2018). Exploring research (9th ed., Global ed.). UK, London: Pearson.

Sullivan, B., Roche, M. E., McDonagh, C., & Glenn, M. (2016). Introduction to critical reflection and action for teacher researchers. New York: Routledge.

 

By Discipline

Goodwin, K. A., & Goodwin, C. J. (2017). Research in psychology: Methods and design. Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley.

Leavy, P. (2015). Method meets art: Arts-based research practice (2nd ed.). New York: The Guilford Press.

Mallinson, C., Childs, B., & Van Herk, G. (2018). Data collection in sociolinguistics: Methods and applications. Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge.

Mannay, D. (2016). Visual, narrative and creative research methods: Application, reflection and ethics. New York: Routledge.

Šerić, N., & Ljubica, J. (2018). Market research methods in the sports industry. Bingley, UK : Emerald Publishing Limited.

Smith, M. F. (2017). Research methods in sport (2nd ed.). London: Learning Matters.

Academic Writing

Barnet, S., Bedau, H., & O’Hara, J. (Eds.). (2017). Critical thinking, reading and writing: A brief guide to argument (9th ed.). USA, New York: Bedford/St. Martin's.

Broussard, M. S. (2017). Reading, research, and writing: Teaching information literacy with process-based research assignments. Chicago, Illinois: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Greasley, P. (2016). Doing essays & assignments: Essential tips for students (2nd ed.). London: SAGE.

Holliday, A. (2016). Doing & writing qualitative research. Los Angeles: SAGE.

Jalongo, M. R., & Saracho, O. N. (2016). Writing for publication: Transitions and tools that support scholars' success. Cham, Switzerland: Springer.

Lester, J. D., Jr. (2018). Research paper handbook: Step-by-step guide to writing effective research papers (4th ed.). Culver City, California: Good Year Books.

McNiff, J. (2016). Writing up your action research project. London: Routledge.

Miller, A. D. (2018). It’s a matter of fact: Teaching students research skills in today’s information-packed world. New York: Routledge.

Neal, E. (2013). Academic writing: Individual and collaborative strategies for success. Stillwater, Okla: New Forums Press.

Osmond, A. (2013). Academic writing and grammar for students (2nd ed.). London, England: SAGE.

Urban, J. B., & Van Eeden-Moorefield, B. (2018). Designing and proposing your research project. Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association.

Wang, G. T., & Park, K. (2016). Student research and report writing: From topic selection to the complete paper. West Sussex: Wiley-Blackwell.

Academic Publishing

Becker, L. M. (2014). Presenting your research: Conferences, symposiums, poster presentations and beyond. London, England: SAGE.

Germano, W. P. (2013). From dissertation to book. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press.

 Harzing, A. -W. (2011). The publish or perish book, part 2: Citation analysis for academics and administrators. Melbourne, Australia: Tarma Software Research.

 Harzing, A.-W. (2011). The publish or perish book, part 3:  Doing bibliometric research with Google Scholar. Melbourne, Australia: Tarma Software Research.

Joireman, J., & Lange, P. A. M. van. (2015). How to publish high-quality research. Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association.

Murray, R. (2013). Writing for academic journals (3rd ed.). Maidenhead, England: McGraw-Hill Open University Press.

Obiakor, F. E., Algozzine, R., & Spooner, F. (Eds.). (2010). Publish, flourish, and make a difference: A guide to successful writing in education (2nd ed.). Arlington, VA.: Council for Exceptional Children.

Rocco, T. S., & Hatcher, T. G. (Eds.). (2011). The handbook of scholarly writing and publishing. San Francisco, CA.: Jossey-Bass.

Smith, S. (2015). PhD by published work: A practical guide for success. New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan.

Trimmer, J. F. (2013). A guide to APA documentation. Boston, MA: Wadsworth Cengage Learning.