Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Managing Author Profiles Online

Create unique identifiers and author profiles to disambiguate yourself from others and manage your publications list.

ResearcherID

  ResearcherID is a unique digital alpha-numeric identifier containing the year of creation. With a ResearcherID, users can update their profile information, build their publication list using Web of Science, EndNote Web or by uploading an RIS file, and chooset to make their profile public or private.

  ResearcherID is fully integrated with the Thomson Reuters' Web of Science which indexes high-impact journals used in:

  • university tenure and promotion and
  • calculating university rankings.

  Correct author attribution may be a major issue in Web of Science, as only initials are used for forenames. Add all variants of your name to ensure proper attribution of your work. 

  Create Citation Metrics reports. Depending on the publication, citation metrics could be available from 1900 onwards.  The Citation Metrics feature shows how many citations were made each year to items in the publication list from Web of Science Core Collection.

  Obtain your h-index within Web of Science (Note: only for publications indexed in Web of Science).

  Integrated with EndNote Web.You can add publications from your EndNote Web account.

  Fully integrated with ORCID. You can link to your ORCID profile and authorise data exchange between Researcher ID and ORCID. Once signed into your ResearcherID profile, click on "Get or associate an ORCID" if you have not created one yet or  the "Exchange Data with ORCID" button.

Create a ResearcherID profile

1. Register for a ResearcherID. A link will be emailed to you for confirmation and to complete the registration process.

2. Add variants of your name (e.g.,  Mueller J.; Muller J; Mueller JR; Jörg Müller; Joerg Mueller; Jorg Muller).

3. Use National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University as the primary institution name.

4. Agree to exchange data with ORCID.

Add Publications to ResearcherID Profile

Publications from your ResearcherID "My Publications" list that overlap with the Web of Science are associated and updated on a weekly basis. These publications will then automatically be updated within Web of Science.

Note: Publications not originally indexed by Web of Science will not be included in the citation report generated through Web of Science, nor display Times Cited data.  Your "My Publications" list is more like an online bibliography/publications list that you can access wherever you are or share with your peers.

How to Add Publications to your ResearcherID profile:

1. Search Web of Science using the Author Search. (Note: searching within Web of Science requires you to be at an authenticated computer). Select your article and use "Save to Researcher ID -- I wrote these" option at the top/bottom of the list.


2. Use EndNote Web. (Note: If you have an EndNote Web account (or if you have synced it to your EndNote library in a desktop computer), you can access your ResearcherID publication list in EndNote Web and take advantage of EndNote features for outputting your publications.)


3. Upload a file from EndNote Desktop or other bibliographic manager. Learn how to export an RIS file from your EndNote library and later import it into your "My Publications" list.

4. Alternatively, you can also add publications from your ORCID profile.

Displaying Citation Data for Added Publications

After adding papers into "My Publications" List, your publications do not automatically hyperlink to WOS or automatically display Times Cited data. Only publications added directly from Web of Science Core Collection will automatically display the related citation data, if any.

Follow the steps below to link the records:

1. Click on "Manage List"

2. Select the publications and click on "Update using Web of Science Core Collection". This button will attempt to obtain Times Cited and DOI information from Web of Science Core Collection and provide a link to the Web of Science Core Collection record.

If WOS is unable to link your publication, it could be for the following reasons:

(a) Publication information is not correct hence WOS is unable to match records*.

(b) Publication is not indexed by WOS. This can be checked in the Master Journal List found at http://ip-science.thomsonreuters.com/mjl/.

If (a), you may edit publication information in the ResearcherID publication record in Endnote Web by clicking on "Edit Record in EndNote" if you have an EndNote Web account. Edits made to publications in EndNote Web will be reflected in ResearcherID, but will not change the data in Web of Science.

Make your changes and save your record.

Return to ResearcherID and repeat Step 2.

When WOS is able to match publications, you will see Times Cited (and DOI, if any) information from Web of Science Core Collection and a link to the Web of Science Core Collection record.

*Note: Sometimes an added citation is indexed in Web of Science, but a link to the cited article was not made due to incomplete or incorrect data. Such unlinked citations can be identified doing a Cited Reference search in Web of Science Core Collection, and sent to Thomson Reuters for correction using the data change webform on their support page. Click here for a step-by-step guide on what to do to claim unlinked citations.

If you have questions about citation data for specific articles, please let Thomson Reuters know and they can investigate the particular causes. Please submit a query on their support page.

Sample ResearcherID profile

Click on "Citation Metrics" to view the citation data.

ResearcherID Limitations

  Used by Thomson Reuters only.

  Based on a limited number of publications.

 No citation information will be available for non-indexed publications.

Times cited information will only be displayed under the following conditions:

1. The papers must be indexed by Web of Science and

2. Bibliographic information of the publication must match those in the Web of Science.

The citation metrics in ResearcherID is derived from data in Web of Science. If there is a discrepancy in the numbers, it may be due to:

1. Publications in the Publication List are incomplete hence resulting in smaller citation metrics, or

2. Bibliographic information of papers on your publication list did not match those in Web of Science, and as a result citation metrics would not be displayed.

 Citation counts in Web of Science are very different as compared to Google Scholar

The principal source of difference is the set of publications included in either service.

Web of Science Core Collection counts are based on a curated database of published, peer-reviewed content that is selected according to publicly available standards.

Google Scholar counts are based on a diverse and larger set of publications including published articles, preprints, theses, books, and court opinions. For more information on Web of Science and Google Scholar, please visit http://wokinfo.com/googlescholar/.

For more background on the citation data in Web of Science Core Collection, please go to http://wokinfo.com/citationconnection/.

Acknowledgements

We would like to express our gratitude to Ms Natasha Arguello and UTSA Libraries for allowing us to adapt their Author Profiles LibGuide.