LibGuides: Bibliographies of Speakers of NIE Professorships Summit 2025: Dr Ruth Wong Professor in Teacher Education (Professor Allison Littlejohn)

Professor Allison Littlejohn: A Select Bibliography

This bibliography is compiled in conjunction with the 4th Dr. Ruth Wong Professorship and the NIE Professorships Summit 2025.
It is based on the NIE Library's collection. Access to licensed resources is only available to NIE staff and students.

Professor Littlejohn is Pro Vice-Provost for the Data Empowered Societies Grand Challenge and Professor of Learning Technology at University College London. Her research explores how digital tools transform professional learning across energy, healthcare, and education, focusing on aligning technology with work practices. She has led over 40 projects, published 300+ works, and currently holds visiting professorships at the Open University, University of Wollongong, and National Institute of Education, Singapore. She previously directed the UCL Knowledge Lab and held senior roles at the Open University, University of Glasgow, and Glasgow Caledonian University.

Books

Littlejohn, A., & Hood, N. (2018). Reconceptualising learning in the digital age: The undemocratising potential of MOOCs. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-981-10-8893-3

Littlejohn, A., Jaldemark, J., Vrieling-Teunter, E., & Nijland, F. (Eds.). (2019). Networked professional learning: Emerging and equitable discourses for professional development. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-18030-0

Littlejohn, A., & Pegler, C. (Eds.). (2015). Reusing open resources: Learning in open networks for work, life and education. Routledge.

Book Chapters

Chaudhari, V., Littlejohn, A., & Cross, S. (2022). Antecedents and consequences of uncertainties perceived by finance professionals. In B. Rienties, R. Hampel, E. Scanlon, & D. Whitelock (Eds.), Open world learning: Research, innovation and the challenges of high-quality education (pp. 237-249). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003177098-20

Chaudhari, V., Murphy, V., & Littlejohn, A. (2019). The educational intelligent economy — Lifelong learning — A vision for the future. In T. D. Jules & F. D. Salajan (Eds.), The educational intelligent economy: Big data, artificial intelligence, machine learning and the Internet of Things in education (pp. 109-126). Emerald Publishing. https://doi.org/10.1108/S1479-367920190000038007

Dalsgaard, A., Chaudhari, V., & Littlejohn, A. (2019). Professional learning in open networks: How midwives self-regulate their learning in massive open online courses. In A. Littlejohn, J. Jaldemark, E. Vrieling-Teunter, & F. Nijland (Eds.), Networked professional learning: Emerging and equitable discourses for professional development (pp. 15-36). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-18030-0_2

Hood, N., & Littlejohn, A. (2018). Disruptive democratisers? The complexities and incongruities of scale, diversity and personalisation in MOOCs. In E. Ossiannilsson (Ed.), Ubiquitous inclusive learning in a digital era (pp. 1-28). IGI Global. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-5225-6292-4.ch001

Littlejohn, A. (2021). Professional learning analytics. In A. Wise, D. Gašević, A. Merceron, G. Siemens, & C. Lang (Eds.), Handbook of learning analytics, Volume 2 (pp. 141-151). Society for Learning Analytics and Research. https://doi.org/10.18608/hla22.014

Littlejohn, A. (2023). Challenges of digital professional learning: Digital technology systems are no substitute for human agency. In K. Evans, W. O. Lee, J. Markowitsch, & M. Zukas (Eds.), Springer international handbooks of education (pp. 1201-1218). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-031-19592-1_56

Littlejohn, A., Kennedy, E., & Laurillard, D. (2022). Professional learning analytics: Understanding complex learning processes through measurement, collection, analysis, and reporting of MOOC data. In M. Goller, E. Kyndt, S. Paloniemi, & C. Damşa (Eds.), Methods for researching professional learning and development: Challenges, applications and empirical illustrations (pp. 557-578). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-031-08518-5_25

Littlejohn, A., & McGill, L. (2015). Ecologies of open resources and pedagogies of abundance. In B. Gros, Kinshuk, & M. Maina (Eds.), The future of ubiquitous learning: Learning designs for emerging pedagogies (pp. 115-130). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-662-47724-3_8

Littlejohn, A., & Pammer-Schindler, V. (2022). Technologies for professional learning. In C. Harteis, D. Gijbels, & E. Kyndt (Eds.), Research approaches on workplace learning: Insights from a growing field (pp. 321-346). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-89582-2_15

Murphy, V. L., Littlejohn, A., & Rienties, B. C. (2019). Social network analysis and activity theory. In D. E. Froehlich, M. Rehm, & B. C. Rienties (Eds.), Mixed methods social network analysis: Theories and methodologies in learning and education (pp. 113-125). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429056826-12

Öberg, L.-M., Nyström, C. A., Littlejohn, A., & Vrieling-Teunter, E. (2019). Communities of inquiry in crisis management exercises. In A. Littlejohn, J. Jaldemark, E. Vrieling-Teunter, & F. Nijland (Eds.), Networked professional learning: Emerging and equitable discourses for professional development (pp. 55-68). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-18030-0_4

Papathoma, T., Ferguson, R., & Littlejohn, A. (2022). Enabling online learning: Who are the educators? In R. Sharpe, S. Bennett, & T. Varga-Atkins (Eds.), Handbook of digital higher education (pp. 99-110). Edward Elgar. https://doi.org/10.4337/9781800888494.00017

Journal Articles

Berendt, B., Littlejohn, A., & Blakemore, M. (2020). AI in education: Learner choice and fundamental rights. Learning, Media and Technology, 45(3), 312-324. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439884.2020.1786399

Berry, L., Rienties, B., Littlejohn, A., & Sastry, V. (2020). A quasi-experimental study to explore the impact of PAR on becoming an Agile Warrior. Military Psychology, 32(2), 198-211. https://doi.org/10.1080/08995605.2020.1724753

Charitonos, K., & Littlejohn, A. (2021). Professional learning in healthcare settings in resource-limited environments: What are the tensions for professionals' knowing and learning about antimicrobial resistance? Studies in Continuing Education, 44(3), 475-492. https://doi.org/10.1080/0158037X.2021.1883577

Charitonos, K., Littlejohn, A., McMullan, R., & Fox, A. (2024). Addressing global challenges by contextualising learning at scale: Future professional learning for the health sector. Journal of Interactive Media in Education, 2024(1), Article 18. https://doi.org/10.5334/jime.904

Durán del Fierro, F., Littlejohn, A., & Kennedy, E. (2024). Sociotechnical imaginaries of sharing and emerging postdigital meaning-making practices in the astronomy community. Postdigital Science and Education, 6, 844-865. https://doi.org/10.1007/s42438-024-00473-5

Falconer, I., Littlejohn, A., McGill, L., & Beetham, H. (2016). Motives and tensions in the release of open educational resources: The UKOER program. Australasian Journal of Educational Technology, 32(4), 92-105. https://doi.org/10.14742/ajet.2258

Fontana, R. P., Milligan, C., Littlejohn, A., & Margaryan, A. (2015). Measuring self-regulated learning in the workplace. International Journal of Training and Development, 19(1), 32-52. https://doi.org/10.1111/ijtd.12046

Gourlay, L., Littlejohn, A., Oliver, M., & Potter, J. (2021). Lockdown literacies and semiotic assemblages: Academic boundary work in the Covid-19 crisis. Learning, Media and Technology, 46(4), 377-389. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439884.2021.1900242

Hood, N., & Littlejohn, A. (2017). Knowledge typologies for professional learning: Educators' (re)generation of knowledge when learning open educational practice. Educational Technology Research and Development, 65(6), 1583-1604. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11423-017-9536-z

Hood, N., & Littlejohn, A. (2018). Hacking history: Redressing gender inequities on Wikipedia through an editathon. International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning, 19(5), 203-217. https://doi.org/10.19173/irrodl.v19i5.3549

Hood, N., Littlejohn, A., & Milligan, C. (2015). Context counts: How learners' contexts influence learning in a MOOC. Computers & Education, 91, 83-91. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.compedu.2015.10.019

Huijser, H., Ames, K., Bozkurt, A., Cox, G., Crick, T., Dron, J., Farrow, R., Knox, J., Ossiannilsson, E., Rienties, B., & Weller, M. (2024). Collaboration or competition? The value of sector-wide collaboration in educational technology research. Australasian Journal of Educational Technology, 40(3), 1-8. https://doi.org/10.14742/ajet.10077

Iniesto, F., Littlejohn, A., & Charitonos, K. (2022). A review of research with co-design methods in health education. Open Education Studies, 4(1), 273-295. https://doi.org/10.1515/edu-2022-0017

Kaatrakoski, H., Littlejohn, A., & Charitonos, K. (2021). Antimicrobial resistance challenging professional learning in three LMICs. Journal of Workplace Learning, 33(6), 446-459. https://doi.org/10.1108/JWL-10-2020-0166

Kaatrakoski, H., Littlejohn, A., & Hood, N. (2017). Rethinking professional learning in higher education: A study on how the use of Open Educational Resources triggers the adoption of Open Educational Practice. Qwerty - Open and Interdisciplinary Journal of Technology, Culture and Education, 12(1), 46-63.

Kennedy, E., Oliver, M., & Littlejohn, A. (2022). "You make yourself entirely available": Emotional labour in a caring approach to online teaching. Italian Journal of Educational Technology, 30(1), 30-48. https://doi.org/10.17471/2499-4324/1237

Littlejohn, A. (2020). Seeking and sending signals: Remodelling teaching practice during the Covid-19 crisis. ACCESS: Contemporary Issues in Education, 40(1), 56-62. https://doi.org/10.46786/ac20.8253

Littlejohn, A. (2023). Transforming educators' practice: How university educators learned to teach online from home during the Covid-19 pandemic. Higher Education Research and Development, 42(2), 366-381. https://doi.org/10.1080/07294360.2022.2073982

Littlejohn, A., Charitonos, K., Goshtasbpour, F., & Rahimi, Z. (2023). Addressing the persistent disconnect between learning and work: Using a Logic Model to support negotiations of diverse actors during the design of digital learning systems. Learning Letters, 1, Article 7. https://doi.org/10.59453/EYEV8004

Littlejohn, A., Charitonos, K., & Kaatrakoski, H. (2019). The role of professional learning in addressing global challenges: Tensions and innovations associated with AMR. Frontiers in Education, 4, Article 112. https://doi.org/10.3389/feduc.2019.00112

Littlejohn, A., Gourlay, L., Kennedy, E., Logan, K., Neumann, T., Oliver, M., Potter, J., & Rode, J. (2021). Moving teaching online: Cultural barriers experienced by university teachers during Covid19. Journal of Interactive Media in Education, 2021(1), Article 7. https://doi.org/10.5334/jime.631

Littlejohn, A., & Hood, N. (2017). How educators build knowledge and expand their practice: The case of open education resources. British Journal of Educational Technology, 48(2), 499-510. https://doi.org/10.1111/bjet.12438

Littlejohn, A., & Hood, N. (2018). Becoming an online editor: Perceived roles and responsibilities of Wikipedia editors. Information Research, 23(1), Article 784.

Littlejohn, A., Hood, N., Milligan, C., & Mustain, P. (2016). Learning in MOOCs: Motivations and self-regulated learning in MOOCs. The Internet and Higher Education, 29, 40-48. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.iheduc.2015.12.003

Littlejohn, A., Hood, N., Rehm, M., McGill, L., Rienties, B., & Highton, M. (2020). Learning to become an online editor: The editathon as a learning environment. Interactive Learning Environments, 29(8), 1258-1271. https://doi.org/10.1080/10494820.2019.1625557

Littlejohn, A., Margaryan, A., Vojt, G., & Lukic, D. (2017). Learning from Incidents Questionnaire (LFIQ): The validation of an instrument designed to measure the quality of learning from incidents in organisations. Safety Science, 99, 80-93. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ssci.2017.02.005

Littlejohn, A., & Milligan, C. (2015). Designing MOOCs for professional learners: Tools and patterns to encourage self-regulated learning. eLearning Papers, 42, Article 4.

Littlejohn, A., Milligan, C., Fontana, R. P., & Margaryan, A. (2016). Professional learning through everyday work: How finance professionals self-regulate their learning. Vocations and Learning, 9(2), 207-226. https://doi.org/10.1007/s12186-015-9144-1

Littlejohn, A., & Pammer-Schindler, V. (2022). Technologies for professional learning. In C. Harteis, D. Gijbels, & E. Kyndt (Eds.), Research approaches on workplace learning (pp. 321-346). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-89582-2_15

Margaryan, A., Bianco, M., & Littlejohn, A. (2015). Instructional quality of Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs). Computers & Education, 80, 77-83. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.compedu.2014.08.005

Margaryan, A., Littlejohn, A., & Stanton, N. A. (2017). Research and development agenda for Learning from Incidents. Safety Science, 99, 5-13. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ssci.2016.09.004

Milligan, C., Fontana, P., Littlejohn, A., & Margaryan, A. (2014). Self-regulated learning behaviour in the finance industry. Journal of Workplace Learning, 26(6), 387-402. https://doi.org/10.1108/JWL-02-2014-0011

Milligan, C., & Littlejohn, A. (2014). Supporting professional learning in a massive open online course. International Review of Research in Open and Distributed Learning, 15(5), 197-213. https://doi.org/10.19173/irrodl.v15i5.1855

Milligan, C., & Littlejohn, A. (2016). How health professionals regulate their learning in massive open online courses. Internet and Higher Education, 31, 113-121. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.iheduc.2016.07.005

Milligan, C., Littlejohn, A., & Margaryan, A. (2014). Workplace learning in informal networks. Journal of Interactive Media in Education, 2014(1), Article 6. https://doi.org/10.5334/2014-06

Murphy, V., Littlejohn, A., & Rienties, B. (2021). Learning from incidents: Applying the 3-P model of workplace learning. Journal of Workplace Learning, 34(3), 242-255. https://doi.org/10.1108/JWL-04-2021-0050

Oliver, M., Littlejohn, A., & Kennedy, E. (2023). What prevents universities from 'building back better'? Fault lines in university structures of care during the COVID-19 pandemic. European Journal of Higher Education, 15(1), 1-22. https://doi.org/10.1080/21568235.2023.2265599

Pammer-Schindler, V., Ley, T., Kimmerle, J., Littlejohn, A., & Mazarakis, A. (2022). Designing technologies to support professional and workplace learning for situated practice. IEEE Transactions on Learning Technologies, 15(5), 523-525. https://doi.org/10.1109/TLT.2022.3207306

Pataraia, N., Falconer, I., Margaryan, A., Littlejohn, A., & Fincher, S. (2014). 'Who do you talk to about your teaching?': Networking activities among university teachers. Frontline Learning Research, 2(2). https://doi.org/10.14786/flr.v2i2.89

Pataraia, N., Margaryan, A., Falconer, I., Littlejohn, A., & Falconer, J. (2014). Discovering academics' key learning connections: An ego-centric network approach to analysing learning about teaching. Journal of Workplace Learning, 26(1), 56-72. https://doi.org/10.1108/JWL-03-2013-0012

Rehm, M., Rienties, B., & Littlejohn, A. (2018). Does a formal wiki event contribute to the formation of a network of practice? A social capital perspective on the potential for informal learning. Interactive Learning Environments, 26(3), 308-319. https://doi.org/10.1080/10494820.2017.1324495

Rienties, B., Tempelaar, D., Nguyen, Q., & Littlejohn, A. (2019). Unpacking the intertemporal impact of self-regulation in a blended mathematics environment. Computers in Human Behavior, 100, 345-357. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.chb.2019.07.007

Rode, J., Kennedy, E., & Littlejohn, A. (2022). Gender and the lived body experience of academic work during Covid19. Learning, Media and Technology, 47(1), 109-124. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439884.2022.2031214

Rode, J., & Littlejohn, A. (2024). Constructing accessible technology policy in a university setting during COVID. Including Disability, 4, 1-23. https://doi.org/10.51357/id.v4i.296

Rogaten, J., Rienties, B., Sharpe, R., Cross, S., Whitelock, D., Lygo-Baker, S., & Littlejohn, A. (2019). Reviewing affective, behavioural, and cognitive learning gains in higher education. Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education, 44(3), 321-337. https://doi.org/10.1080/02602938.2018.1504277

Varga-Atkins, T., Bennett, S., Sharpe, R., Alexander, S., & Littlejohn, A. (2021). The choices that connect uncertainty and sustainability: Student-centred agile decision-making approaches used by universities in Australia and the UK during the COVID-19 pandemic. Journal of Interactive Media in Education, 2021(1), Article 16. https://doi.org/10.5334/jime.649