This bibliography is compiled in conjunction with the 17th CJ Koh Professorship and the NIE Professorships Summit 2025.
It is based on the NIE Library's collection. Access to licensed resources is only available to NIE staff and students.
Professor Chapman FAcSS, FRSE, FRSA is Professor of Educational Policy and Practice at the University of Glasgow. He leads the Economic and Social Research Council/Children’s Neighbourhoods Scotland (ESRC/CNS) legacy project and collaborates with Pontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso (PUCV) on a Networked Learning System model. As Director of the Network for Social and Educational Equity, he advances research-practice partnerships for equitable education. He also sits on the First Minister’s International Council of Education Advisers.
Ainscow, M., Chapman, C., & Hadfield, M. (2019). Changing education systems: A research-based approach. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429273674
Chapman, C. (2014). From within- to between- and beyond-school improvement: A case of rethinking roles and relationships? (ICSEI Monograph Series No. 3). International Congress for School Effectiveness and Improvement.
Chapman, C., & Ainscow, M. (Eds.). (2021). Educational equity: Pathways to success. Routledge.
Chapman, C., Armstrong, P., Harris, A., Muijs, D., Reynolds, D., & Sammons, P. (Eds.). (2012). School effectiveness and improvement research: Challenging the orthodoxy. Routledge.
Chapman, C., & Gunter, H. M. (2009). Radical reforms: Reflections on an era of change. Routledge.
Chapman, C., Muijs, D., Reynolds, D., Sammons, P., & Teddlie, C. (Eds.). (2016). The Routledge international handbook of educational effectiveness and improvement: Research, policy, and practice. Routledge.
Hadfield, M., & Chapman, C. (2009). Leading school-based networks. Routledge.
Harris, A., Hopkins, D., Day, C., Hadfield, M., Hargreaves, A., & Chapman, C. (2003). Effective leadership for school improvement. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203754849
Mongon, D., & Chapman, C. (2012). High-leverage leadership: Improving outcomes in educational settings. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203156919
Muijs, D., Ainscow, M., Chapman, C., & West, M. (2011). Collaboration and networking in education. Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-94-007-0283-7
Pino Yancovic, M., González, A., Ahumada, L., & Chapman, C. (2019). School improvement networks and collaborative inquiry: Fostering systemic change in challenging contexts. Emerald Publishing.
Ainscow, M., Chapman, C., Hadfield, M., Jopling, M., Mongon, D., & West, M. (2021). Finding pathways to educational equity. In C. Chapman & M. Ainscow (Eds.), Educational equity: Pathways to success (pp. 171–183). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003128359-10
Armstrong, P., Chapman, C., Harris, A., Muijs, D., Reynolds, D., & Sammons, P. (2012). Introduction. In C. Chapman, P. Armstrong, A. Harris, D. Muijs, D. Reynolds, & P. Sammons (Eds.), School effectiveness and improvement research, policy and practice: Challenging the orthodoxy (pp. 1–10). Routledge.
Chapman, C. (2012). School improvement research and practice: A case of back to the future? In C. Chapman, P. Armstrong, A. Harris, D. Muijs, D. Reynolds, & P. Sammons (Eds.), School effectiveness and improvement research, policy and practice: Challenging the orthodoxy (pp. 11–26). Routledge.
Chapman, C. (2016). Networking for educational equity: Rethinking improvement within, between and beyond schools. In A. Harris & M. S. Jones (Eds.), Leading futures: Global perspectives on educational leadership (pp. 148–155). SAGE. https://doi.org/10.4135/9789354799280.n10
Chapman, C. (2021). Aiming for systemic change: The development of the agenda. In C. Chapman & M. Ainscow (Eds.), Educational equity: Pathways to success (pp. 20–37). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003128359-2
Chapman, C., & Ainscow, M. (2021). Developing equitable education systems. In C. Chapman & M. Ainscow (Eds.), Educational equity: Pathways to success (pp. 1–19). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003128359-1
Chapman, C., Armstrong, P., Harris, A., Muijs, D., Reynolds, D., & Sammons, P. (2012). Conclusion. In C. Chapman, P. Armstrong, A. Harris, D. Muijs, D. Reynolds, & P. Sammons (Eds.), School effectiveness and improvement research, policy and practice: Challenging the orthodoxy (pp. 227–234). Routledge.
Chapman, C., Chestnutt, H., Friel, N., Hall, S., & Lowden, K. (2017). Taking the lead: Teachers leading educational reform through collaborative enquiry in Scotland. In A. Harris, M. Jones, & J. B. Huffman (Eds.), Teachers leading educational reform: The power of professional learning communities (pp. 11–31). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315630724-3
Chapman, C., Drever, A., McBride, M., Orr, C., & Weakley, S. (2019). Leading place-based interventions to improve outcomes in low socio-economic settings. In T. Townsend (Ed.), Instructional leadership and leadership for learning in schools: Understanding theories of leading (pp. 379–400). Palgrave Macmillan. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-23736-3_15
Chapman, C., & Gunter, H. M. (2009). Reflections on reform: Perspectives and challenges. In C. Chapman & H. M. Gunter (Eds.), Radical reforms: Perspectives on an era of educational change (pp. 196–209). Routledge.
Chapman, C., & Hadfield, M. (2010). School-based partnerships and networks for educational change. In A. Hargreaves, A. Lieberman, & D. Hopkins (Eds.), Second international handbook of educational change (pp. 765–780). Springer.
Chapman, C., Reynolds, D., Muijs, D., Sammons, P., Teddlie, C., & Clarke, P. (2016). Educational effectiveness and improvement: Research and practice (EEI): The emergence of the discipline. In C. Chapman, D. Muijs, D. Reynolds, P. Sammons, & C. Teddlie (Eds.), The Routledge international handbook of educational effectiveness and improvement: Research, policy, and practice (pp. 1–24). Routledge.
Chapman, C., & Russ, J. (2005). Sustaining improvement in challenging contexts. In P. Clarke (Ed.), Improving schools in difficulty (pp. 156–171). Continuum
Gunter, H. M., & Chapman, C. (2009). A decade of New Labour reform of education. In C. Chapman & H. M. Gunter (Eds.), Radical reforms: Reflections on an era of change (pp. 1–14). Routledge.
Hadfield, M., & Chapman, C. (2011). Leading learning networks. In T. Townsend, J. MacBeath, & T. Al-Barwani (Eds.), International handbook of leadership for learning (pp. 623–640). Springer.
Hadfield, M., & Chapman, C. (2016). Qualitative methods in educational improvement and effectiveness. In C. Chapman, D. Muijs, D. Reynolds, P. Sammons, & C. Teddlie (Eds.), The Routledge international handbook of educational effectiveness and improvement: Research, policy, and practice (pp. 202–219). Routledge.
Madrid Miranda, R., & Chapman, C. (2024). Social justice and equitable systems in education. In G. W. Noblit (Ed.), Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/acrefore/9780190264093.013.141
Mongon, D., & Chapman, C. (2009). New provisions of schooling. In D. Mongon & H. M. Gunter (Eds.), Radical reforms: Reflections on an era of change (pp. 104–116). Routledge.
Muijs, D., & Chapman, C. (2009). Accountability for improvement: Rhetoric or reality? In C. Chapman & H. M. Gunter (Eds.), Radical reforms: Reflections on an era of change (pp. 28–41). Routledge.
Neary, J., Chapman, C., Hall, S., & Lowden, K. (2022). Local authorities and school-to-school collaboration in Scotland. In P. W. Armstrong & C. Brown (Eds.), School-to-school collaboration: Learning across international contexts (pp. 27–41). Emerald Publishing. https://doi.org/10.1108/9781800436688
Reynolds, D., Chapman, C., & Kelly, A. (2016). Educational effectiveness and improvement research and educational policy: The rise of performance-based reforms. In C. Chapman, D. Muijs, D. Reynolds, P. Sammons, & C. Teddlie (Eds.), The Routledge international handbook of educational effectiveness and improvement: Research, policy, and practice (pp. 283–309). Routledge.
Reynolds, D., Chapman, C., Muijs, D., Sammons, P., & Teddlie, C. (2016). Conclusions: The future of EER and some suggestions and speculations. In C. Chapman, D. Muijs, D. Reynolds, P. Sammons, & C. Teddlie (Eds.), The Routledge international handbook of educational effectiveness and improvement: Research, policy, and practice (pp. 408–439). Routledge.
Reynolds, D., Potter, D., & Chapman, C. (2003). School improvement for schools facing challenging circumstances. In B. Davies & J. West-Burnham (Eds.), Handbook of educational leadership and management (pp. 471–484). Pearson Education.
Reynolds, D., Teddlie, C., & Chapman, C. (2016). Effective school processes. In C. Chapman, D. Muijs, D. Reynolds, P. Sammons, & C. Teddlie (Eds.), The Routledge international handbook of educational effectiveness and improvement: Research, policy, and practice (pp. 77–99). Routledge.
Armstrong, P. W., Brown, C., & Chapman, C. J. (2021). School-to-school collaboration in England: A configurative review of the empirical evidence. Review of Education, 9(1), 319–351. https://doi.org/10.1002/rev3.3248
Chapman, A. L., Hadfield, M., & Chapman, C. J. (2015). Qualitative research in healthcare: An introduction to grounded theory using thematic analysis. Journal of the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, 45(3), 201–205. https://doi.org/10.4997/JRCPE.2015.305
Chapman, C. (2000). Improvement, inspection and self-review. Improving Schools, 3(2), 57–63. https://doi.org/10.1177/136548020000300213
Chapman, C. (2001). Changing classrooms through inspection. School Leadership and Management, 21(1), 59–73. https://doi.org/10.1080/13632430120033045
Chapman, C. (2002). Ofsted and school improvement: Teachers' perceptions of the inspection process in schools facing challenging circumstances. School Leadership and Management, 22(3), 257–272. https://doi.org/10.1080/1363243022000020390
Chapman, C. (2004). Leadership for improvement in urban and challenging contexts. London Review of Education, 2(2), 95–108. https://doi.org/10.1080/1474846042000229449
Chapman, C. (2008). Towards a framework for school-to-school networking in challenging circumstances. Educational Research, 50(4), 403–420. https://doi.org/10.1080/00131880802499894
Chapman, C. (2013). Academy federations, chains and teaching schools in England: Reflections on leadership, policy and practice. Journal of School Choice, 7(3), 334–352. https://doi.org/10.1080/15582159.2013.808936
Chapman, C. (2015). From one school to many: Reflections on the impact and nature of school federations and chains in England. Educational Management Administration & Leadership, 43(1), 46–60. https://doi.org/10.1177/1741143213494883
Chapman, C. (2019). From hierarchies to networks: Possibilities and pitfalls for educational reform of the middle tier. Journal of Educational Administration, 57(5), 554–570. https://doi.org/10.1108/JEA-12-2018-0222
Chapman, C., & Ainscow, M. (2019). Using research to promote equity within education systems: Possibilities and barriers. British Educational Research Journal, 45(5), 899–917. https://doi.org/10.1002/berj.3544
Chapman, C., & Allen, T. (2006). Collaborative reform for schools in difficulty. Improving Schools, 9(3), 291–301. https://doi.org/10.1177/1365480206072269
Chapman, C., & Bell, I. (2020). Building back better education systems: Equity and COVID-19. Journal of Professional Capital and Community, 5(3/4), 227–236. https://doi.org/10.1108/JPCC-07-2020-0055
Chapman, C., Chestnutt, H., Friel, N., Hall, S., & Lowden, K. (2016). Professional capital and collaborative inquiry networks for educational equity and improvement? Journal of Professional Capital and Community, 1(3), 178–197. https://doi.org/10.1108/JPCC-03-2016-0007
Chapman, C., & Fullan, M. (2007). Collaboration and partnership for equitable improvement: Towards a networked learning system? School Leadership and Management, 27(3), 207–211. https://doi.org/10.1080/13632430701379354
Chapman, C., & Hadfield, M. (2010). Realising the potential of school-based networks. Educational Research, 52(3), 309–323. https://doi.org/10.1080/00131881.2010.504066
Chapman, C., & Hadfield, M. (2010). Supporting the middle tier to engage with school-based networks: Change strategies for influencing and cohering. Journal of Educational Change, 11(3), 221–240. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10833-009-9125-y
Chapman, C., & Harris, A. (2004). Improving schools in difficult and challenging contexts: Strategies for improvement. Educational Research, 46(3), 219–228. https://doi.org/10.1080/0013188042000277296
Chapman, C., Lindsay, G., Muijs, D., Harris, A., Arweck, E., & Goodall, J. (2010). Governance, leadership, and management in federations of schools. School Effectiveness and School Improvement, 21(1), 53–74. https://doi.org/10.1080/09243450903569734
Chapman, C., & Muijs, D. (2013). Collaborative school turnaround: A study of the impact of school federations on student outcomes. Leadership and Policy in Schools, 12(3), 200–226. https://doi.org/10.1080/15700763.2013.831456
Chapman, C., & Muijs, D. (2014). Does school-to-school collaboration promote school improvement? A study of the impact of school federations on student outcomes. School Effectiveness and School Improvement, 25(3), 351–393. https://doi.org/10.1080/09243453.2013.840319
Chapman, C., & Salokangas, M. (2012). Independent state-funded schools: Some reflections on recent developments. School Leadership and Management, 32(5), 473–486. https://doi.org/10.1080/13632434.2012.731329
Connolly, P., Hanratty, J., Hughes, J., Chapman, C., & Blaylock, D. (2019). PROTOCOL: Protocol for a systematic review: Inter-school collaborations for improving educational and social outcomes for children and young people. Campbell Systematic Reviews, 15(1-2), e1011. https://doi.org/10.1002/cl2.1011
Harris, A., & Chapman, C. (2002). Democratic leadership for school improvement in challenging contexts. International Electronic Journal for Leadership in Learning, 6(9).
Harris, A., & Chapman, C. (2002). Leadership in schools facing challenging circumstances. Management in Education, 16(1), 10–13. https://doi.org/10.1177/08920206020160010301
Harris, A., & Chapman, C. (2004). Improving schools in difficult contexts: Towards a differentiated approach. British Journal of Educational Studies, 52(4), 417–431. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1467-8527.2004.00276.x
Harris, A., Chapman, C., Muijs, D., Russ, J., & Stoll, L. (2013). Getting lost in translation? An analysis of the international engagement of practitioners and policy-makers with the educational effectiveness research base. School Leadership and Management, 33(1), 3–20. https://doi.org/10.1080/13632434.2012.723622
Harris, A., Chapman, C., Muijs, D., Russ, J., & Stoll, L. (2006). Improving schools in challenging contexts: Exploring the possible. School Effectiveness and School Improvement, 17(4), 409–424. https://doi.org/10.1080/09243450600743483
Jones, M., Azorín, C., Chapman, C., & Harris, A. (2023). Leading professional networks: Different perspectives. School Leadership and Management, 43(1), 1–7. https://doi.org/10.1080/13632434.2023.2175564
Loudon, E., Neary, J., McAteer, B., Higgins, K., & Chapman, C. (2024). A causeway to impact: A proposed new integrated framework for intergenerational community-based participatory action research. Children and Society, 38(5), 1493–1509. https://doi.org/10.1111/chso.12815
Madrid Miranda, R., & Chapman, C. (2024). Towards a network learning system: Reflections on a university initial teacher education and school-based collaborative initiative in Chile. Professional Development in Education, 50(4), 760–774. https://doi.org/10.1080/19415257.2021.1902840
Madrid Miranda, R., Glas, K., & Chapman, C. (2024). Building agency in school–university partnerships: Lessons from collaborative research during the pandemic. Journal of Educational Administration. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.1108/JEA-11-2023-0281
Muijs, D., Chapman, C., & Armstrong, P. (2013). Can early careers teachers be teacher leaders? A study of second-year trainees in the teach first alternative certification programme. Educational Management Administration & Leadership, 41(6), 767–781. https://doi.org/10.1177/1741143213494188
Muijs, D., Harris, A., Chapman, C., Stoll, L., & Russ, J. (2004). Improving schools in socioeconomically disadvantaged areas? A review of research evidence. School Effectiveness and School Improvement, 15(2), 149–175. https://doi.org/10.1076/sesi.15.2.149.30433
Potter, D., Reynolds, D., & Chapman, C. (2002). School improvement for schools facing challenging circumstances: A review of research and practice. School Leadership and Management, 22(3), 243–256. https://doi.org/10.1080/1363243022000020381
Salokangas, M., & Chapman, C. (2014). Exploring governance in two chains of academy schools: A comparative case study. Educational Management Administration & Leadership, 42(3), 372–386. https://doi.org/10.1177/1741143214521588