Predatory Publishing

• CiteScore: A multidisciplinary index based on the data from Scopus. It is a resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 42,180 indexed journals in over 300 disciplines.
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): "DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. ... All data is freely available." Note: As many predatory journals falsely claim to be listed in DOAJ, DOAJ maintains a spreadsheet list of Journals Added and Removed.
• Journal Citation Reports (JCR): "Journal Citation Reports aggregates the meaningful connections of citations created by the research community through the delivery of a rich array of publisher-independent data, metrics and analysis of the world’s most impactful journals included in the Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE) and Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), part of the Web of Science Core Collection." Metrics available in the JCR include the Journal Impact Factor (JIF).
• Journal Quality List: Compiled by Dr. Anne-Wil Harzing, creator of the Publish or Perish (PoP) software, the Journal Quality List is a collation of journal rankings from a variety of sources. It is published primarily to assist academics to target papers at journals of an appropriate standard.
• SCImago Journal & Country Rank: An online portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.).
• Sherpa Romeo : "Sherpa Romeo is an online resource that aggregates and analyses publisher open access policies from around the world and provides summaries of publisher copyright and open access archiving policies on a journal-by-journal basis."

• Avoiding Predatory Journals and Questionable Conferences: A Resource Guide (2018) 
  The guide provides a clear overview of the topics of predatory journals and questionable conferences and advice on how to avoid them.

• COPE: Discussion Document: Predatory Publishing (2019)
  The COPE predatory publishing discussion document introduces issues, and analyses potential solutions, around predatory publications.

• DOAJ: Best Practice Guide
  The guide provides selection criteria, resources and tools for the identification of reputable open access journals.

• ICMJE: Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals (ICMJE)
  These recommendations are for review of best practice and ethical standards in the conduct, reporting, editing and publication of works in medical journals.

• Journal Publishing Practices and Standards (JPPS) Framework
  This framework is applied to journals on the Journals Online platforms (JOLs). It could also be used to assess other Southern and global titles.

• Principles of Transparency & Best Practices in Scholarly Publishing (2018)
  OASPA, DOAJ, COPE and WAME collaborated in an effort to identify principles of transparency and best practice for scholarly publications.

Credit: RSTF Joint Guide: Predatory Publishing (https://libguides.nie.edu.sg/RSTF-predatory-publishing)

The following are examples of organisations that seek to maintain standards in the publishing industry:

• Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE) : "COPE is committed to educating and supporting editors, publishers and those involved in publication ethics with the aim of moving the culture of publishing towards one where ethical practices becomes a normal part of the publishing culture."
• Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA) : "Representing our community of scholarly publishers and related organisations, OASPA works to support the transition to a world in which open access becomes the predominant model of publication for scholarly outputs. We are committed to our mission of developing and disseminating publishing solutions that advance open access, preserve the integrity of scholarship, and promote best practice."

Think. Check. Submit. "helps researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications."

"Think. Check. Submit" video is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Predatory conferences are akin to predatory journals in that both seek to make a quick profit rather than promote scholarly communication. High registration fees may be charged and spam email tactics used. Those renowned in their field of expertise may even be listed as speakers without their knowing it.

Hence, the main objective of the Think. Check. Attend. initiative is to "guide and assist researchers and scholars to judge the legitimacy and academic credentials of conferences in order to help them decide whether to or not attend the same."

Considering whether to attend a particular conference? This is their checklist infographic:

"Think. Check. Attend" infographic is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution License (CC-BY).

• Flaky Academic Conferences and Flaky Academic Journals
  Blogs on questionable conferences and journals. Both blogs are written by David H. Kaye, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Penn State Law (University Park), and Regents’ Professor Emeritus, ASU (Schools of Law and Life Sciences).

• Retraction Watch
  A blog that keeps an eye on scientific integrity and helps draw attention to how researchers, journals, and institutions correct the scientific record.  

• Predatory Journals (@fake_journals) / Twitter

Credit: RSTF Joint Guide: Predatory Publishing (https://libguides.nie.edu.sg/RSTF-predatory-publishing)