Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LibFetch!

A browser extension which makes it easier to access electronic resource content subscribed by NIE Library

Scenarios on when to use LibFetch!

GET ACCESS ALERT: When you reach a web page with content that the NIE Library has purchased or subscribed to, LibFetch! will alert you to sign in with your NIE Login account.

(Note: you only have to sign in once per browser session. For subsequent searches, clicking the "Get Access" button will bring you to the full text straightaway.)


A) You search in Google and find some relevant titles in the list of search results. 

However, when you click on an article link, you are asked to pay for the full text. An alert will appear letting you know you can access the material by signing in. Click the "Get Access" button to be directed to the NIE Library authentication page.

After you have authenticated with your NIE Login account details, you will be able to access the full text.

 

B) You start your search in a journal/database website directly e.g. JSTOR (not via the library portal). 

An alert will appear letting you know you can access the full text resources in the journal or database by signing in. Click the "Get Access" button and continue your search for full text.

Now that access has been granted, any full text articles will be available to you without further authentication.

 

ARTICLE AVAILABLE ELSEWHERE: An e-resource is listed in a database displaying only the abstract or just the citation details, but the full text may be available in another database. LibFetch! will alert you and give you a link to another location where the full text is available.

 

A) You search for an article in a Web of Science database, and do not have access to the full text.

In situations like this, LibFetch! will alert you and give you a link to where the best full text is available, which is the published article in Taylor & Francis, rather than the accepted manuscript version. Simply click "Get Access" to be directed to the full text!

You are directed to the published article in Taylor & Francis, which is part of the library's subscription.

 

B) You search for an article in Research Gate but do not have access to the full text.

Lean Library automatically looks for an alternative source for the full text. Simply click "Get Access" to be directed to the full text!

In this case, you will be re-directed to an NIE Library subscribed e-resource which is EBSCOHost Education Source database.

EBOOK AVAILABLE ELSEWHERE: An ebook is listed in a website displaying only the citation details, and you are asked to purchase it.  LibFetch! will alert you and give you a link to another location where the e-book is available.

 

You search for an ebook in Amazon and do not have access to the book chapters. 

LibFetch! automatically looks for an alternative source for the full text. Simply click on the ebook title link in the pop-up box to be directed to the full text!

In this case, you will be re-directed to an NIE Library subscribed book in Springer database.

OPEN ACCESS ALERT: If an e-resource is available as an open access version, Lean Library will alert you and send you the link.

Some e-resources have an open access version and a licensed version online. If an e-resource is not available as a licensed version through the library's subscription but available somewhere else for free, LibFetch! will let you know. Click "Get Article" to be taken to the open access version of the e-resource.

 

Note: The open access version may not be the final published article but an earlier manuscript version. 

REQUEST FOR ARTICLE: If an e-resource is not available in full text, LibFetch! will alert you and send you the link to request for it.

While the library tries to provide access to a wide range of materials, we unfortunately cannot purchase or subscribe every book, journal, or every issue from a particular journal. When you find an e-resource that is not available in NIE Library's subscription and is not available as open access, LibFetch! will direct you to our Document Delivery page where you can request a copy of the resource. Just click "Submit Request " to be linked to the Document Delivery page.

Please also refer to this page on more information on what to do if you cannot access a resource online in full text.

You can then request for a scanned copy of the book chapter or article to be sent to you, subject to copyright restrictions.