Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) is characterised as “a persistent pattern of inattention and/or hyperactivity-impulsivity that interferes with functioning or development” (American Psychiatric Association, 2013, p. 59). Some examples of these characteristics can include “fails to give close attention to details or makes careless mistakes in schoolwork, at work, or during other activities”, “difficulty sustaining attention in tasks or play activities”, “fidgets with or taps hands or feet or squirms in seat”, and “difficulty waiting his or her turn” (American Psychiatric Association, 2013, p. 59).
Source: American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed.). Arlington, VA: American Psychiatric Publishing.
Linking ADHD to the neural circuitry of attention (2017)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Spontaneous activity in the waiting brain: A marker of impulsive choice in attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder? (2015)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Altered salience processing in attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (2015)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Electroencephalography correlates of spatial working memory deficits in attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder: Vigilance, encoding, and maintenance (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
A review of fronto-striatal and fronto-cortical brain abnormalities in children and adults with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) and new evidence for dysfunction in adults with ADHD during motivation and attention (2012)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Inhibitory control of memory retrieval and motor processing associated with the right lateral prefrontal cortex: Evidence from deficits in individuals with ADHD (2010)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Altered evoked gamma-band responses reveal impaired early visual processing in ADHD children (2010)
Translation Abstract Full Text
The neural basis of sustained and transient attentional control in young adults with ADHD (2009)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Functional magnetic resonance imaging evidence for abnormalities in response selection in attention deficit hyperactivity disorder: Differences in activation associated with response inhibition but not habitual motor response (2008)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Ventral striatal hyperconnectivity during rewarded interference control in adolescents with ADHD (2016)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Feedback associated with expectation for larger-reward improves visuospatial working memory performances in children with ADHD (2015)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Hemodynamic response of children with attention-deficit and hyperactive disorder (ADHD) to emotional facial expressions (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Ventral-striatal responsiveness during reward anticipation in ADHD and its relation to trait impulsivity in the healthy population: A meta-analytic review of the fMRI literature (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Impaired reward processing by anterior cingulate cortex in children with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text*
Identifying the neurobiology of altered reinforcement sensitivity in ADHD: A review and research agenda (2010)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Social cognition in attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)(2010)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Electrophysiological correlates of semantic processing during encoding of neutral and emotional pictures in patients with ADHD (2009)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Electrophysiological evidence of atypical motivation and reward processing in children with attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (2008)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Real-time fMRI neurofeedback in adolescents with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (2017)
Translation Abstract Full Text
An event-related potential investigation of the acute effects of aerobic and coordinative exercise on inhibitory control in children with ADHD (2017)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Neurofeedback in ADHD and insomnia: Vigilance stabilization through sleep spindles and circadian networks (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
The influences of environmental enrichment, cognitive enhancement, and physical exercise on brain development: Can we alter the developmental trajectory of ADHD? (2011)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Training-induced neuroanatomical plasticity in ADHD: A tensor-based morphometric study (2011)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Double-dissociation between the mechanism leading to impulsivity and inattention in Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder: A resting-state functional connectivity study (2017)
Translation Abstract Full Text
An evidenced-based perspective on the validity of attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder in the context of high intelligence (2016)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Unique white matter microstructural patterns in ADHD presentations—a diffusion tensor imaging study (2016)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Characterizing heterogeneity in children with and without ADHD based on reward system connectivity (2015)
Translation Abstract Full Text
The executive control network and symptomatic improvement in attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (2015)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Grey matter volume differences associated with gender in children with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder: A voxel-based morphometry study (2015)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Impaired reward processing in the human prefrontal cortex distinguishes between persistent and remittent attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (2015)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder without comorbidity is associated with distinct atypical patterns of cerebral microstructural development (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Network connectivity abnormality profile supports a categorical-dimensional hybrid model of ADHD (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Size and synchronization of auditory cortex promotes musical, literacy, and Attentional skills in children (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Lag in maturation of the brain's intrinsic functional architecture in attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Functional connectivity of substantia nigra and ventral tegmental area: Maturation during adolescence and effects of ADHD (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder is characterized by a delay in cortical maturation (2007)
Translation Abstract Full Text
What can cortical development in attention-deficit/ hyperactivity disorder teach us about the early developmental mechanisms involved? (2017)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Frontal alpha asymmetry predicts inhibitory processing in youth with attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (2017)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Network-level assessment of reward-related activation in patients with ADHD and healthy individuals (2017)
Translation Abstract Full Text
A systematic review and meta-analysis of tract-based spatial statistics studies regarding attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (2016)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Cortical morphometry in attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder: Contribution of thickness and surface area to volume (2016)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Non-negative matrix factorization of multimodal MRI, fMRI and phenotypic data reveals differential changes in default mode subnetworks in ADHD (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Pattern classification of response inhibition in ADHD: Toward the development of neurobiological markers for ADHD (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Brainstem abnormalities in attention deficit hyperactivity disorder support high accuracy individual diagnostic classification (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Modality-spanning deficits in attention-deficit/ hyperactivity disorder in functional networks, Gray matter, And white matter (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Disrupted network architecture of the resting brain in attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
White matter tract integrity of frontostriatal circuit in attention deficit hyperactivity disorder: Association with attention performance and symptoms (2014)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Probabilistic diffusion tractography and graph theory analysis reveal abnormal white matter structural connectivity networks in drug-naive boys with attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (2013)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Habenula and ADHD: Convergence on time (2013)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Topography of sleep slow wave activity in children with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (2013)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Large-scale brain systems in ADHD: Beyond the prefrontal-striatal model (2012)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Decreased frontostriatal microstructural organization in attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (2012)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Meta-analysis of fMRI studies of timing in attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) (2012)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Diffusion tensor imaging in attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder: A systematic review and meta-analysis (2012)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Sleep-dependent memory consolidation - What can be learnt from children? (2012)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Is the ADHD brain wired differently? A review on structural and functional connectivity in attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (2010)
Translation Abstract Full Text
White-matter abnormalities in attention deficit hyperactivity disorder: A diffusion tensor imaging study (2009)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Altered small-world brain functional networks in children with attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (2009)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Abnormal cerebral cortex structure in children with ADHD (2009)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Fisher discriminative analysis of resting-state brain function for attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (2008)
Translation Abstract Full Text
Functional connectivity of frontal cortex in healthy and adhd children reflected in EEG coherence (2007)
Translation Abstract Full Text
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.