Skip to main content

APA Style

Learn how to cite in APA today!

Selected Books on APA Style and Plagiarism

Title: New Oxford style manual

Author: Oxford University Press,
Edition: 2nd ed
Publication info: Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2012
Call No.:  PN147 Oxf 2012

Description: Brings together two reference works in a single volume: New Hart's Rules and the New Oxford Dictionary for Writers and Editors. New Hart's Rules, Oxford's definitive guide to style provides advice on how to prepare copies for publication. Topics covered include how to use italic, roman, and other type treatments, numbers and dates, law and legal references, illustrations, notes and references, and bibliographies. The guidelines are complemented by the New Oxford Dictionary for Writers and Editors, which has entries with full coverage of recommended spellings, variant forms, confusable words, hyphenation, capitalization, foreign and specialist terms, proper names, and abbreviations.


Title: Writing with style: APA style made easy      

Author: Szuchman, Lenore T.
Edition: 6th ed
Publication info: Belmont, CA: Wadsworth Publishing, 2013
Call No.:  BF76.8 Szu 2014

Description: Provides the basics of style presented by the Sixth Edition of the APA's Publication Manual.  Learn how to avoid common errors and use the APA style with confidence.


TitleA guide to APA documentation    

Author: Trimmer, Joseph F.
Publication info: Boston, MA: Wadsworth Cengage Learning, 2013
Call No.:  PN147 Tri

Description:  Covers the basics of the APA style as well as topics such as evaluating references, recording reference information and taking notes.

 

TitleConcise rules of APA style   

Author: American Psychological Association
Publication info: Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2010
Call No.:  BF76.7 Con 2010

Description:  This easy-to-use pocket guide compiled from the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association provides complete guidance on the rules of style that are critical for clear communication.


Title: Cite right: A quick guide to citation styles -- MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more.

Author: Lipson, Charles
Edition: 2nd ed
Publication info: Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2011
Call No.:  PN171.F56 Lip

Description: Covers a range of citation styles from various fields such as APA, MLA (Modern Language Association), Chicago, CSE (Council of Science Editors), AAA (American Anthropological Association), AMA (American Medical Association) and ACS (American Chemical Society). Updated with examples from diverse source types including instant messages, social networking sites and other forms of digital media.


Title: Publication manual of the American Psychological Association

Author: American Psychological Association
Edition: 6th ed
Publication info: Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2010
Call No.:  BF76.7 Pub 2010

Description: The most authoritative manual on APA style. Provides guidance on citing sources, formatting text and tables, and writing clearly and concisely. More user-friendly than previous editions albeit at the expense of a profusion of examples.


Title
: An EasyGuide to APA style 

Authors:  Schwartz, Beth M., Landrum, R. Eric, and Gurung, Regan A. R.
Edition:  2nd ed
Publication info: Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, (2014)
Call No.:  BF76.7 Sch

Description:  The conversational tone makes reading this guide a breeze.  Especially useful is the chapter on using Microsoft Word 2010 to format your paper in APA style.


Title: A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations: Chicago style for students and researchers

Author: Turabian, Kate L.
Revised by: Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, Joseph M. Williams, and University of Chicago Press editorial staff
Edition: 7th ed
Publication info: Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2007
Call No.:  LB2369 Tur 2007 

Description: This is the 7th edition of Kate Turabian’s 1937 booklet of guidelines for student writers. The major part of the book covers the guidelines laid down by “The Chicago Manual of Style” (15th edition). The rest of it incorporates advice on the research process, adapted from the equally classic book “Craft of Research” by William C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb and Joseph M. Williams.


Title: Keys for writers

Authors: Raimes, Ann and Jerskey, Maria
Edition: 6th ed
Publication info: Boston, MA : Wadsworth Cengage Learning, 2011
Call No.:  PE1408 Rai

Description: Written for all disciplines at the undergraduate level and above, this book covers APA, MLA and other citation styles. It has handy tabs for convenient reference.


Title: The psychologist's companion: A guide to writing scientific papers for students and researchers (print / ebook)

Authors: Sternberg, Robert J. and Sternberg, Karin
Edition: 5th ed
Publication info: New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2010
Call No.:  BF76.8 Ste 2010

Description: Provides guidance on scientific writing for students and scholars throughout the entire research process. It covers the APA style as well as topics such as writing grant proposals and ethics.


Title: How to cite, reference and avoid plagiarism at university

Authors:  McMillan, Kathleen, & Weyers, Jonathan
Edition:  1st ed
Publication info:  Harlow, England: Pearson Education, 2013
Call No.: PN171.F56 Wey

Description:  A handy and ambitious guide that is chockful of information, often presented in the form of tables and boxes.  Careful study will reap benefits for the diligent reader.


Title:  What every student should know about researching online

Authors:  Munger, Dave, & Campbell, Shireen
Edition:  2nd ed
Publication info:  Boston, MA: Pearson, 2012
Call No.:  ZA4228 Mun

Description:  Presents guidelines on how to find, evaluate and document online sources.  Also contains a section on how to handle copyright issues for works that are found online. 


Title
The Chicago manual of style

Authors:  University of Chicago Press
Edition:  15th ed
Publication info:  Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2003
Call No.:  Z253 Chi 2003

Description:   Offers guidance on using the Chicago style including publishing formats, editorial style and method, documentation of electronic sources, book design and production. All chapters are written for the electronic age, with advice on how to prepare and edit manuscripts online, handle copyright and permissions issues raised by technology, and cite electronic and online sources.


Title
MLA style manual and guide to scholarly publishing

Authors:  Gibaldi, Joseph
Edition:  3rd ed
Publication info:  New York, NY: Modern Language Association of America, 2008
Call No.:  PN147 Gib 2008

Description:  Offers guidance on using the MLA style for writing scholarly texts, documenting research sources, submitting manuscripts to publishers, and dealing with legal issues surrounding publication.  New features include citation formation for electronic sources and guidelines for preparing electronic files.

Selected Websites on APA Style

APA Style website: http://www.apastyle.org/ 
The official website of the APA style. It is divided into 3 sections: the publication manual, learning resources (quick answers) and products.

APA Style Blog: http://blog.apastyle.org/apastyle/
The self-declared “official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition”. It contains posts from APA style experts. Entries are written in a lively tone and unravel thorny issues such as referencing YouTube videos and Facebook pages, citing articles with the same author and year, and citing musical scores. Reader questions and expert replies make for interesting and informative reading.